Rest day at Patong Beach - Frankie goes to.....the South of Thailand (2018) - CycleBlaze

November 13, 2018

Rest day at Patong Beach

I walked back down to the beach this morning and have to say the swimming itself was nice but all the activities on and off the water are difficult to digest for somebody who - according to my friend Jan Houtermans - suffers from the Asperger Syndrome. Searching for  tranquility is how I would express it more in my favour... 

Looking back I would still say I enjoyed my two days here. That was very much due to the P.S. 2 Resort and my neighbour next door, Lars from Sweden, a lovely gentleman who has enjoyed the antagonism of this place for many years now.

One area along the beach where the locals do still dominate.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Back to jet ski oriented mass tourism,
Heart 0 Comment 0
....mass massages...
Heart 0 Comment 0
...and more jet skis.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Applause to that young man on the left! I stayed there for a while and he was the only one who obeyed the smoking ban on the beach.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Same, same - NOT different
Heart 1 Comment 2
Andrea BrownOur code word for tourists in SE Asia is "elephant pants", haha.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Andrea BrownI know, Andrea! This pic is just for you and Bruce....
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Finding this typical Thai street eatery in a side alley really made my day. Before I came along German, Austrian, Swiss, French, Ethiopian, Egyptian (...to be continued) restaurants but the lady in here cooked me an outstanding dish of my all time favourite...
Heart 2 Comment 5
Andrea BrownWhen I see your photos of little Thai eateries like this I get homesick for Thailand.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Andrea BrownI have been seriously asked before whether I am running out of funds as I only seem to be eating in these roadside stalls. Ignoramuses!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Andrea BrownThat meal would be $12 here in the states, and not nearly as good!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Andrea BrownYou know what is like here, Andrea. This is not just the matter of how much but how good. These places are catering for the locals and f you are not god you might as well close down. And an almost ridiculous bill comes with t. Phuket prices are higher for the locals too, all the same this meal cost me 60 Baht (1.60 € / 1.80 USD). Certainly adds to the pleasure!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Andrea BrownAnd those flavors can’t be reproduced here even in the best, most authentic Thai restaurants (of which we have at least 4 out of the 100 Thai restaurants in Portland) because the ingredients in Thailand are so fresh. It’s exactly as you say, if the little eatery can’t please the locals then they are finished, so we look to see who else is eating there. We’ve had such outstanding food at these little “grandma” stands.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Phad Khrapao Gai (Thai Basil with Chicken)
Heart 3 Comment 0
The most friendly mosque I have probably ever seen, currently being build right next to my resort.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Two hours "out there" were enough though. Then it was back to my nice room (down on the right) and...
Heart 2 Comment 0
....the tranquility of the pool.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0