Day 4: Ban Krut - Bang Boet - Frankie goes to.....the South of Thailand (2018) - CycleBlaze

October 28, 2018

Day 4: Ban Krut - Bang Boet

When I woke up here at the Phrao Thai Resort after my fourth night the rain was hammering down on my bungalow again and I was starting to feel some sort of frustration building. I always knew my ride down to Penang at the end of the rainy season would not be an entirely sunny affair but I basically had not seen much else than descending water over the last few days. Not a big problem in those attractive bungalows and I managed to go through two novels, something I haven´t done to such extent for ages. But overall this is still a cycling blog.

I finally decided to get going around noon as the forecast wasn´t too bright for the next few days and I wanted to do at least a few kilometers and see some change of location. Turned out to be a good decision: Just some drizzle every now and then but pleasantly cool with it. Not the ideal sightseeing conditions you would want to have if you do that beautiful stretch of coast for the first time but I personally simply enjoyed being back out there after 4 nights of rest.

In general I agree with Jan Houtermans who stops in Bang Boet (aka Bang Burd) solely for one reason: the seafood on offer. I enjoyed my overnight stop as such though. The family run Boonchu Bangburd Resort isn´t that bad even if their room prices are a bit steep at 700 Baht. To me it didn´t feel like that as they originally asked for 800 and came down a hundred when I attempted to leave again. I am certainly well fed, see what the weather does to me over the next few days before I have another longish stay with my friends Peed and Komar at their homestay and restaurant in Ban Tong Tom just south of Chumphon.

It looked for a long time as if I would not get out there on the bike today...
Heart 5 Comment 0
... but the last one of those three delicious papayas helped my mood a little bit along while waiting with all my gear packed..
Heart 3 Comment 0
Around noon it cleared up a touch but the permanent threat of rain remained in the sky.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A last impression from the attractive Ban Krut Beach.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The trawlers moored at the Mae Ram Phueng Pier.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Image not found :(
The ones that have the least somehow always seem to be the most friendly ones.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Crushing the ice for the trawler fleet
Heart 3 Comment 0
Despite the dull conditions still a nice ride along the Scenic Route 2021.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The waterfront of my Boonchu Bangburd Resort
Heart 4 Comment 0
The promenade with all the seafood restaurants in Bang Boet
Heart 3 Comment 0
Much better conditions at sunset.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Ban Krut to Bang Boet
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 km (36 miles)
Total: 251 km (156 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Henna JanieschI hope the raindancers take a rest. Let the wheels roll.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago