Day 6: Khlong Thom - Koh Lanta - Frankie goes to.....explore Southern Thailand (Part 1: Chumphon to Trang) - CycleBlaze

December 16, 2019

Day 6: Khlong Thom - Koh Lanta

I used to like the ride taking me onto Koh Lanta with two ferry passages from Mainland to Lanta Noi and then from Lanta Noi to Lanta Yai. The ride between the two ferries on the first, smaller Lanta Noi island was particularly attractive. But things have changed. The "improvement" of infrastructure has led to the construction of a bridge bewteen the two islands and the roads leading there have seen a major upgrade and straightening too. Nowadays all the way down from Highway 4 is a real racetrack for these retarded silver minibus drivers who transport the package tourists from Krabi Airport to Lanta. Makes it really unpleasant and when leaving again I even consider being back on Highway 4 a relief. Shame as I still like the island itself much better than Phuket for instance. But as I am always getting there on a bicycle the related infrastructure plays a big part when it comes to the overall assessment. 

This time all those thoughts were secondary though as I had a very pleasant reason to go: My friends Susi and Thomas from my German hometown Königswinter-Thomasberg are on Lanta for 10 days and there was no question I would be meeting them. Just one night though as my last month in Thailand has a busy schedule for me and I will have to move houses in Trang before I leave for New Zealand on December 29.

While they are residing in the exclusive Crown Lanta Resort, I chose the Baan Por Jai Guesthouse as my accommodation for that one night. Happy with it, mostly filled with Swedish holiday makers who are generally nice people to meet. And the room itself at 600 Baht through agoda was more than sufficient for my demands too. Scene set for a nice evening with nice company....

As there will obviously not be many visual delights waiting along that short ride to Koh Lanta, I can once again focus on the culinary delights! Out of the Vanilla Resort and a couple of hundred meters down the highway towards Trang I found one of these perfect breakfast restaurants. A wonderful choice of dim sums....
Heart 3 Comment 0
...and some Chinese donuts, filled rolls and fresh salad perfectly support the real main course: joc moo sai kai - rice porridge (or congee) with minced pork and the typical half-cooked egg. Sweet tea with it is mandatory!
Heart 3 Comment 2
Chris WeeOfficially jealous and hungry !
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Chris WeeTime for another mutual food-ride then, Chris!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Image not found :(
The major tourist attraction along the #4206: A miniature mosque....
Heart 0 Comment 0
Down at the ferry pier
Heart 2 Comment 0
The ferries leave and come non-stop and charge 25 Baht for the one-way crossing for "both of us". The ferry on the left is just arriving, soon spitting out a whole bunch of the beloved silver vans....
Heart 3 Comment 0
On the new bridge between Lanta Noi (little) and Lanta Yai (big)
Heart 2 Comment 0
Yesss! The best possible present from back home: "Schwarzbrot", the dark wholemeal rye bread I dearly miss whereever I go
Heart 1 Comment 0
A group of American artists practising in the afternoon sun on Klong Dao Beach
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking the other way. Fortunately the rain stayed on the mainland and we only got to watch the spectacular result...
Heart 1 Comment 0
The evening setup at Klong Dao Beach. Really nice al-fresco dining with rather bland and expensive Thai food. "Sort of" Thai food I should say....
Heart 3 Comment 0
The two people in love on the right are my friends Susi and Thomas in front of the very nice Mook Anda Bar
Heart 0 Comment 0
My guesthouse, the Baan Por Jai. Located in a rather dark alley surrounded by other hotels but still a full thumb up from my side
Heart 0 Comment 0
Khlong Thom - Koh Lanta. Google Maps only allows the routing up to the ferry terminal on the mainland. 11 km have to be added to actually get to Saladan on the northwestern tip of Lanta Yai, right above the blue G of Google
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 483 km (300 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0