Day 8: Hat Pakmeng - Trang - Frankie goes to.....explore Southern Thailand (Part 1: Chumphon to Trang) - CycleBlaze

December 18, 2019

Day 8: Hat Pakmeng - Trang

When you look at the map below, you will see there is a direct route to Trang, more than 20 kilometers shorter than what i did. But there has never been any doubt about my choice. Down the coast through the Hat Chao Mai National Park and then up towards Trang along the #4008. I have done this bit many, many times now since I have a house in Trang and I will never get tired of it. All the same I was happy to get back "home" around noon, the strong northeasterly was obviously against me and the last day of a stage ride always seems to be the most difficult one anyway. I find that a strange phenomenon, when the head switches to "it´s over" even a short ride like today can be quite challenging. 

It´s been a great few days though, despite the monotony of many kilometers while crossing over from the Gulf of Thailand to the Andaman Sea. But Southern Thailand is plantation country and I believe it is not as boring as many areas in Malaysia are. Here in Thailand you will still find roads that sem to be naturally grown are not just dead straight service infrastructure along those look-alike palmoil trees. And there are vivid hamlets growing other fruit and vegetables as well. Cycling along the two oceans has got its very own attraction anyway and as there are many more roads leading to Trang I can assure you Part 2 of exploring Southern Thailand will be coming soon.

Thank you very much for accompanying me over the last two weeks and dropping those encouraging comments. I wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, whereever you are spending the festive season.....

The Tree Tunnel
Heart 1 Comment 0
The wonderful calm morning atmosphere south of Pakmeng
Heart 1 Comment 0
Low tide is net repairing time because....
Heart 1 Comment 0
...the crabs will not walk into the pot without a fight
Heart 2 Comment 0
Shy but still happy to present the catch of the day
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Along the #4008. The green young rice lifts any photo in those dull, overcast conditions
Heart 2 Comment 0
The very cyclist friendly Welcome message when coming into Trang from the South. These attractive installations - all related to the region - have been placed around town at the big bypass intersections and are in my opinion an underrated tourist attraction.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I keep telling you the food here is outstanding which becomes obvious every now and then
Heart 0 Comment 0
Talking about food: On return I was invited for lunch at the house of my very close friends from the Bussabongpeerapat Family. If Jim, their incredible cook, would accept, I would hire her, put her on a plane and open a Thai restaurant in New Zealand. Would be the best of both worlds... PS. If you have been following my ride closely you will recognise one of the ingredients! Jim just deep-fried my anchovies for a couple of minutes. Divine!
Heart 2 Comment 0
The fun is over for now, time to move (on).... Not only from Thailand to New Zealand via Malaysia on Dec 29 but before departure I will change houses to. My next "exploring" blog should come from the Marlborough Sounds in New Zealand; the next full tour blog is meant to be Hanoi to Bangkok at the end of April. Given my shoulder holds....
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hat Pakmeng - Trang
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 640 km (397 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Henna JanieschHey Frankie,again thanks for the stories and the pics. Good luck with the changing of your house. Hope the house changing and your trip to NZ will be OK and sucessful.
Wish you Merry Christmas and all the best in 2020. The 15th of January I`ll be back to the Red Sea for diving.
Mid february back in Germany will think of planing my next motorcycle trip to France and Spain. Good luck for you.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Henna JanieschOnce again Thank you for "travelling with me", Helmut. I know your time off revolves more around diving in Egypt and riding your Harley in France but probably we will meet here in Thailand at some stage. Got two bikes down her..... Merry Christmas and all the best for the New Year to you and your family too!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago