Rest days in Lampang - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

December 16, 2017 to December 18, 2017

Rest days in Lampang

The last couple of days have obviously been overshadowed by the sad news from home. I found and still find it very difficult to cope with the passing of my uncle and the related circumstances. I had drafted and posted a separate page meant to be some sort of epitaph but when I read through it afterwards I wasn´t comfortable with it. Neither in regard to my family nor to the friends and cyclists reading this blog. So I deleted that page again and will leave it with "Rest in Peace, Siegfried. I will be thinking of you and the great times we had together a lot."

Such strokes of fate do certainly put things into perspective though and I
find all my whinging about that cold and the related delay in  ycling almost embarrassing now. And you must be tired reading about it as well. I will not mention it again. Promise! I will stay here in Lampang until I am convinced it´s gone. If that´s 3 nights....Fine. If it is 4 or 5 nights.... So it may be. 

There is one positive aspect in my situation too: I do not feel really sick or fevery and still can do my walks around town and - even more important - enjoy my food. So let´s put it under bad luck, bumpy start, whatever. You will hear from me as soon as cycling is going to be fun again.......Until then a few more photos from unassuming but relaxed Lampang:

Sat., Dec 16, 2017

The noisy morning parade in front of my hotel
Heart 1 Comment 0
That´s what you get for 270 Baht. A bit worn but spacious and clean. Nowadays I do prefer these Thai hotels over the backpacker guesthouses.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The promenade along the River Wang in Lampang
Heart 1 Comment 0
Saturday is washday
Heart 3 Comment 0
Mourning the late king in style
Heart 2 Comment 0
When I came along this shop I saw a chance for another craftsmen-at-work photo. The owner was inconsolable the workshop was not on his premises but instead.....
Heart 0 Comment 0
....compensated me with a little tune. How nice! He and his "band" will perform at the Saturday Walking Street so hopefully I will be able to add another photo of him in action
Heart 3 Comment 0
A feast for the eyes that Saturday Night Walking Street in Lampang
Heart 2 Comment 0
And then I did meet that nice gentleman again. I only hope the little girl in the middle didn´t break her neck while trying to squeeze the last drop out of her bottle
Heart 0 Comment 0
And the same bridge as above under illumination
Heart 2 Comment 0

Sun., Dec 17, 2017

View while having a coffee on the terrace of my 3rd floor room. Worse places to be stuck for a few days......
Heart 0 Comment 0
When going for lunch I deliberately look out for these courtyard restaurants. Their offer varies but I have never been disappointed
Heart 2 Comment 0
Back on the Walking Street: This young man sketches his motives onto the thongs without any sort of gauge and then carves.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The impressive results
Heart 2 Comment 0
Must be one of the most attractive roundabouts in Thailand
Heart 1 Comment 0
What a beauty!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0