Day 4: Lamphun - Lampang - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

December 15, 2017

Day 4: Lamphun - Lampang

Routing: #114, 11

Felt much better this morning but could sense at the same time it is not
all over yet. However: Panniers packed and out of the hotel at 8.30 am. Always has been my favourite starting time as - given I am riding at regular fitness and health - this means if I ride for 6 to 7 hours plus breaks I will arrive at my destination about an hour before sunset and on the way in I can take some photos with the best light of the whole day.

Wasn´t really sure what to expect from the stage today. All along
double figure Hway 11 indicates two aspects: On one hand the reliable presence of a shoulder, on the downside plenty of fast flying traffic. I read and heard different opinions on the range I would
have to cross about half way into the day. From long and difficult in the heat up to quite pleasant type of climbing due to the moderate gradient. That latter statement is from my "personal advisor" Bob and now after having done it myself I would certainly go with his evaluation. In more detail for those planning to go that same way: After 18 km there will be one short, 1 km long incline and at exactly 30 km the 4 km as described above will commence. Once you have done it the remaining 40 km into Lampung are not completely flat but very pleasant to ride despite the ever dense and fast traffic.

My personal highlight of the day came unexpectedly half an hour after that
summit. The Thai Elephant Conservation Center. I rode off the highway towards the entrance/ticket booth area but didn´t see anything apart from a rest and recreation area on my right. So I continued along
that brand new road and never saw anybody who would have asked for a
ticket. Illegal entry? Possibly but definitely not intentional as caring for those wonderful creatures is certainly something I would support. After a sharpish climb I rolled down to the feeding area and the attached showground. I guess they have to do something to keep the elephants and the visitors entertained at the same time but that is something I do not like to watch and therefore didn´t stay. The elephant rides must have the same background but I guess that´s more natural to the animals than dancing pirouettes or whatever they are forced to do in these shows. Anyways, I had a ball just watching the elephants from very close and one younger female gave me a private little show how much she can bend her trunk. Hilarious!

So back to Hway 11 again in very high spirits and the last 25 km went by
very fast indeed. No effort invested into the hotel / guesthouse search as I saw a typical Thai "rong rem" - the Kim Hotel - on my left when I approached the town center. Very basic but clean fan rooms at 270 B - deal! Unfortunately the coughing was back as soon as I had parked the bike so I have to see how this develops.
Nothing was going to spoil my day after that nice ride and the elephant experience though. When I walked into town after dark I found a delightful little vegetable and night market about 20 mins from the hotel with some yummy local dishes that I still have to learn the names of.

Great day it was!

Something´s wrong here!
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the eastern outskirts of Lamphun
Heart 0 Comment 0
High above Hway 11
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cute directory for the local temple
Heart 0 Comment 0
Get ready, Roettgen! That´s what Hway 11 looked like most of the way. Even when they opened a third lane on the two climbs there was some shoulder remaining
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is not a shop for the little houses. You will find them at any summit but I have never seen that many in one spot!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lunch
Heart 0 Comment 0
Little poser

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mind the oncoming traffic
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Happy Pottery
Heart 0 Comment 0
But I guess their bread-and-butter business is - not surprisingly - soup bowls
Heart 0 Comment 0
All I need to be happy
Heart 0 Comment 0
And finding this tiny but delightful little food market next to the vegetable market really was the icing on the cake for me
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lamphun - Lampang
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 80 km (50 miles)
Total: 342 km (212 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0