My favourite food in Thailand - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

May 1, 2018

My favourite food in Thailand

Heart 1 Comment 0

Food is an essential fraction of my love for this part of the world and I decided to have this extra page at the beginning of the journal, introducing you to my favourite meals. To me the worst case scenario of a visit to Thailand is coming here and not enjoying the array of delicious, inexpensive food. When I was here first ages ago, I did not speak a word of Thai and was subsequently served Khao Pad Gai (fried rice with chicken) in any restaurant where the owners did not speak English. Thai people obviously consider that meal to be the farang staple food per se. With my little list below I wish to not only wake your appetite for those meals but try to show you how I do pronounce the order.

I have already done the same thing after my 2010-ride but better once to often than not at all!

One of my all time favourites! A pork curry called "Pad Pik Gaeng Moo". The type of meat is always put at the end of the dish. Pork is obviously "moo"; chicken is "gai"; shrimp is "kung" and seafood is "talee". In a "real" Thai restaurant you will get the drinking water ("nam plao") as seen in the background for free; if you want ice with it ask for "nam kaeng, khrap". Female customers say "....., kha" instead.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Khao Moo - braised pork knuckle on rice. Very often the little bowl of clear broth comes with it, otherwise I ask for it: Nam soup, khrap (or kha).
Heart 2 Comment 0
That´s how you know the Khao Moo is on offer, the whole knuckles are always on display. By the way: I don´t eat the skin and I simply pull some skin of my arm and say: Mai! (No!). Good enough to only get meat.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Here we go, as much garlic and chili as a caucasian can take! The greens on the left are called "Pak Boong" or even "Morning Glory" might see a result. I understand it is called silverbeet in the English speaking world.
That´s where most of the garlic goes that I posted while in Chiang Rai.
The clams in the middle will have the same huge amount of chili to balance it out. Ask for "Hoi Lai".
And last but not least the white rice ("Khao Suai") with a fried egg ("Khai Dao").
I could eat that combination every second day!
Heart 2 Comment 0
While riding the bike at 30+ degrees celsius I don´t really feel like solid food but soups. There are three that I really do like: Broth with rice and minced pork ("Khao Tom Moo") as shown here is one of them. The others are of course noodle soup and rice porridge which will be featured at a later stage.
Heart 2 Comment 0
THE Thai staple food: Kwai Tiau Moo (noodlesoup with pork)
Heart 2 Comment 0
Yen Ta Fo. Those various soup dishes may look similar but I am always surprised how different they are in flavour. I am carrying the book on the left with me as it is a great asset in finding new dishes
Heart 2 Comment 0
Appropriate Sunday dinner: Pad Thai de luxe with king prawns. Looks like a gourmet restaurant dish but comes from a most unappealing street hawker only 200 m away from my hotel. Cost: 120 Baht - 3 €. I love Thailand!
Heart 1 Comment 0
On the right: Nam Ya Katee. Rice noodles and a quail egg in a peanutty liquid. Very northern, very yummy!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The "ordinary" Pad Thai
Heart 2 Comment 0
Several locals told me Lampang is renowned for this unspectacular dish: Khao Mun Gai. The Mun is pronounced like the first syllable of Monday. The dips really make it to a very nice dish.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I liked this variety even better: Khao Mun Gai Tot. Get lost KFC!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was taught how to prepare this great seafood dip by Siriphan, the owner of the Nakoa Rimlay Homestay in Ban Tong Tom/Sawi/Chumphon Province. Here is the list of ingredients: palm sugar, refinded sugar, garlic, sea salt, hot hot hot chilis, roasted peanuts, holy basil, tangerines (no limes!). Anything but the refined sugar was used in full as you see it here. And here is the video on the preparation, featuring Siriphan and myself:
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0