Lazy days in Chiang Rai - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

December 5, 2017 to December 8, 2017

Lazy days in Chiang Rai

When I booked myself into the Chat Guesthouse for five nights this was meant to be the appropriate period to acclimatize and go through all the food I´ve only been dreaming off since my last visit in 2013. In the end I needed those days to get rid of quite a nasty cold. The food part remained unchanged though. 

The very attentive Chat House staff and the facility itself helped me through that nasty cold and I still managed to do the things I had to do. Mind you this is a basic guesthouse and I would prefer a bit more water pressure and less participation in the conversations of my next-door neighbours but I am only saying this to not be blamed for praising the place over the top. I love being here - full stop!

What bothers me a little is the weather forecast saying a poor weather front will move through at the weekend and cycling in the rain with my current health condition is the last thing I need and want. But that´s still two days ahead so here are some much brighter impressions:

One of the many things I like about Chiang Rai are the "real" markets. The fish market for instance. You can´t be much further away from the sea in Thailand but there is still an abundance of fresh seafood.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Green grocers street market
Heart 3 Comment 0
Wat Pra Kaew
I know my enthusiasm to post those temple photos will fade very soon but for now you have to cope....
Heart 3 Comment 0
Wat Pra Kaew
Heart 1 Comment 0
My favourite rest place right next to the Chat Guesthouse. Unfortunately those orchids don´t seem to have any odour.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wat Pra Kaew
Heart 1 Comment 0
When I saw the girls in the restaurant peel all that garlic while having lunch I addressed the owner: "Are they preparing your whole demand for 2018?" - "No, no, only today!" he responded. I guess it´s better I am travelling by myself.....
Heart 5 Comment 0
Just back from my test ride - everything seems to be working perfectly ok. Always a concern when you dismantled the whole machine for the flight.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I have to show you a picture of my favourite restaurant. It is right underneath that "Thai Food" awning and you can hardly see it while walking along the boardwalk. The two nightmarkets (one flash, overpriced one; one more basic one with average food) are ok and worth a visit at night but for real Thai food go to that place next to the clocktower.
Heart 3 Comment 0
One more reason to pick that restaurant!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 10 km (6 miles)
Total: 30 km (19 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0