Day 75: Surat Thani - Nathon/Koh Samui - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

April 8, 2018

Day 75: Surat Thani - Nathon/Koh Samui

Routing: #401, 4177, 4009, 4142

A very long day out in the wettest conditions I have experienced so far. When it starts raining in Europe you will usually have a few minutes to seek shelter before you get really wet. Not here though. Those tropical downpours will have you drenched within a minute and you have to try and anticipate when it will start so you can look for some sort of roof beforehand. I personally believe the air becomes considerably fresher just before it starts bucketing down. I can´t be entirely wrong as I managed to stay dry for most of the day.

Approaching Don Sak I didn´t bother stopping anymore but in the afternoon most of the heavy rainfall had moved through anyway. It was almost 4 pm when I rolled into town and due to several rain interruptions it had taken me 7 hours to complete those 69 kilometers. Don Sak itself didn´t look very inviting in that dull weather and I decided to roll over to the Seatran ferry terminal and check out whether the sea would be as unsettled as the forecast suggested. Outside the arrival hall I asked some guys whether it was rough out there but they said it had been a rather smooth journey. So I got myself a ticket for 170 Baht (bike included), which in my opinion is inexpensive for the 90 minute crossing. Just be aware there are two ferry terminals almost next to each other: the Seatran boats will take you right into Nathon, whereas the Raja ones go to Lipa Noi pier, several kilometers south of the islands capital.

Now I know that "rather smooth" is a relative expression as it definitely was some sort of a rollercoaster ride. I don´t get seasick that quick but I certainly felt uncomfortable and decided to sit outside on the deck. Just in case...... As it was going to be dark by the time we would arrive I booked myself a hotel in Nathon and will do the last 15 km up to Maenam tomorrow morning. The Jinta City Hotel (560 Baht) is ok for one night and looking back at the day it wasn´t as bad as it could have been, in particular if I would have got soaking wet early in the day.

Rain interruption 1. Those white pods in front of the trunk are the heavy raindrops
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rain interruption 2
Heart 4 Comment 0
The only dry spell along the #4009
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rain interruption 3
Heart 2 Comment 0
Boarding the "Seatran 10". I was lucky as it was not only a brand new vessel but considerably larger than their other ones which is certainly an advantage in rough sea. You are looking at the massive back of Amza from France, who left his home country on the bike 9 years ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Look at the size of his gear and he pulls a trailer as well
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking back at the attractive coastline
Heart 4 Comment 0
I asked a lady to take this photo for me. She ended up taking five as she couldn´t manage to get me into the center of the picture...
Heart 3 Comment 0
....because anytime she clicked the ferry did a big dive
Heart 3 Comment 0
Spectacular sky. The black dot at the horizon is the sister ferry which left half an hour after us
Heart 3 Comment 0
Late but most enjoyable swim in the hotel pool
Heart 4 Comment 0
Surat Thani - Don Sak and ferry to Nathon
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 69 km (43 miles)
Total: 5,597 km (3,476 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0