Day 76: Nathon - Maenam - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

April 9, 2018 to April 16, 2018

Day 76: Nathon - Maenam

Routing: #4169

I do only post about those 14 kilometers as it is my chronological obligation. I have been coming to Maenam on the northern coast of Samui for more than 20 years now and there are two bungalow resorts I usually do stay at. The Palm Point Village with the smaller bungalows and the much larger Lolita Resort, offering the more spacious fan bungalows too. At 800 Baht per night you pay 300 Baht more too and I always decide which one to go for just before arriving on the island. This time after more than 4 months on the road I wish to have some more privacy and am staying at Lolita´s. I don´t think I will be doing much outside the resort this time as the beach is not only free of sandflies but drops rather quick and allows for proper swimming without having to walk hundreds of meters in the shallow water as in most places on the mainland. Yes, Samui is very touristy but if you are after some days on the beach Maenam is the place to be. I will actually be here for 8 nights through Songkran, meeting Andrew in Don Sak on April 17.

The pastel colours were still dominating on my arrival at Maenam Beach but the sun shall be out again from tomorrow
Heart 3 Comment 0
And the forecast was right! Maenam Beach with the restaurant of the Lolita Resort on the left...
Heart 3 Comment 0
...and looking the other way
Heart 3 Comment 0
My bungalow
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
8 days stationary? Easy! Either on my terrace...
Heart 2 Comment 0
....or on the crowded beach
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nathon - Maenam
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 14 km (9 miles)
Total: 5,611 km (3,484 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Andrew FatseasLooks like a nice spot. A far cry from chaweng!
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Andrew FatseasIndeed, Andrew. I guess the same situation like Bali or Mallorca i.e. The crowds that do give the bad reputation do concentrate on very few party zones but there are still genuines places round the corner. Maenam is not entirely untouched anymore but I didnĀ“t have to wait for people to clear the beach. It still is a good place in my opinion
Reply to this comment
6 years ago