Day 62: Bangkok - Samut Songkhram - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

March 15, 2018

Day 62: Bangkok - Samut Songkhram

Routing: #35

Initially just a few words on my last day in Bangkok yesterday, once again packed with excitement. Bob and I met again on Sukhumvit to get our second set of compression sacks and have lunch afterwards. Back in the hotel I received a message from Praphreut saying the bike would be ready for pickup at 4 pm. Perfect timing and when I arrived at the shop I had to wait outside as there already were some people in the tiny shop. When the door opened I couldn´t believe it: Janet and Leigh, who I had met in Koh Kong/Cambodia, were in for some brake pads and a new tyre before they leave for Egypt today. Big Hello and we decided to spend the rest of the day together as well. My mood couldn´t have been better, in particular as I was extremely happy with what Praphreut delivered: Both hubs replaced, new chain and full service (all for 4250 Baht) and the bike feels like new!

Today: The last time I travelled down this west coast of the Gulf of Thailand I rode all the way through to Hat Chao Samran on Day 1 but no way I was going that super-long distance again. Instead I was headed for Samut Songkhram from the start and I turned out to be a very good decision. Leaving Bangkok the way I did was a piece of cake and once on Hway 35 it was very busy with morning traffic but still easy going. It´s just a bit tricky on that frontage road with all the local buses, taxis, songthaeos and tuk tuks pulling in and out in front of you to drop or pick up passengers. Therefore a lot of stop and go until Samut Sakhon but from there on it is only a shoulder along the highway which is actually much more relaxed cycling.

I am very impressed with Samut Songkhram along the River Mae Klong. My decent hotel is called Mae Klong hotel too, the well equiped rooms go for 600 Baht. Great extra feature for somebody who has done all his exercise during the day: The excellent nightmarket is set up right in front of the hotel.

What´s that? A hub? No! It´s MY NEW hub. The old one had been bothering me since the start up in Chiang Rai. Needed Praphreut from Bok Bok Bikes to finally find out what the problem was. Same new thing on the rear, a new chain, everything well adjusted - the Koga runs smooth as silk again. Problems with your bike? Bok Bok Bikes!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Janet, myself, Leigh. Safe and enjoyable cycling up in Europe, guys!
Heart 1 Comment 0
After talking along the canal for hours we decided to go to my hotel balcony and got a tuk tuk as they had come to Bok Bok by boat. I am showing you this photo despite the miserable quality as a lot of tuk tuks have such a rack on the rear and it is one more option if you wish to avoid cycling in the Bangkok traffic
Heart 5 Comment 0
Yaowarat Road, Chinatown on my way out
Heart 4 Comment 0
Bye, bye Bangkok! Once you are on the flyover taking you west onto Hway 35 (aka Rama II Road) you literally feel you are leaving the capital
Heart 4 Comment 0
The frontage road on #35 up to Samut Sakhon where the buses are painted pink....
Heart 1 Comment 0
Samut Sakhon Harbour
Heart 5 Comment 0
Hway 35 between Samut Sakhon and Songkhram. Nothing for an enjoyable Sunday morning ride but good enough for what I am doing
Heart 1 Comment 0
As there was not much else happening along Hway 35 let me run you through the biggest business around here: Salt. Stage 1....
Heart 1 Comment 0
Stage 2
Heart 3 Comment 0
Stage 3
Heart 2 Comment 0
Stage 4
Heart 2 Comment 0
No pink linen this time in the Mae Klong Hotel. And the Beatles on the wall. Good place! On the bed are two of my new compression sacks. What you see here used to fill two thirds of my right rear pannier. About half of the volume now!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Having an excellent Pad Thai with dried shrimp and tofu on the nightmarket. My hotel is the grey building in the background
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Down at the Mae Klong River
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bangkok - Samot Songkhram
Heart 1 Comment 0
The way out of Bangkok in more detail as I believe you will hardly find a much easier route. Leave the hotel, turn right , cross the one-way Maitri Chit Road and turn right onto Rama IV. Take the third road to the left which will only leave you the option to turn right onto Yaowarat Road through Chinatown. One more left turn towards Phra Pokklao Bridge, then it´s about 10 km straight down until the signs will send you right onto Rama II (=Hway 35). Done!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 km (47 miles)
Total: 4,826 km (2,997 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0