Day 61: Chonburi - Bangkok - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

March 11, 2018

Day 61: Chonburi - Bangkok

Routing: #3, 34

If I look back how hesitant I was in making that decision to go right into Bangkok I can only shake my head now. Not about my hesitation as such but because it was so incredibly easy and relaxed getting here! Going on a Sunday was probably the joker but with the triple-thread approach that Hway 34 is set up with for the first 65 km from Chonburi to the suburbs of Bangkok riding along there should never be a problem. It´s easiest to understand what I am saying when you have a look at the photos below. The only real attention is required for all those motorbikes coming your way as there is no chance for them to cross over to the other side of the highway.

The last 20 km or so in actual metropolitan Bangkok were a bit more demanding but I had not one single close call all the way up to the hotel. I am actually more thrilled than relieved how the day went. The only thing I would do different the next time: I would not rely on maps.me suggesting a bicycle route from the junction 34/3 anymore. About 30 turns, with a lot of bad and sometimes dangerous sections -along the industrial area right on the bank of the Chao Phraya in particular - plus very time consuming. There must have been a more direct route. I myself did the full Sukhumvit Road once before and found that much easier and by no means more challenging.

Anyways, I am here now and the Krungkasem Srikrung Hotel is a winner too. It is perfectly located for any undertaking while in Bangkok, in particular if you should get here by train or leave for somewhere else from Hualamphong Central Station, right opposite the hotel. My room is perfectly meeting my demands with a large fridge, excellent wifi, water kettle and a really nice hot shower. I booked it through agoda and got my 6th floor balcony room for 830 Baht, breakfast included, whereas the show-up price would have been 1000. Ready for tomorrow´s meeting with Bob!

Sunday morning, 7.30 am, Chonburi waterfront
Heart 1 Comment 0
The peculiar concrete dam while leaving the city to the North
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped for breakfast at that huge food market along the #34. The Khao Moo of these ladies was as good as their mood.
Heart 5 Comment 0
And so was this lady selling just the face skin and ears of pigs. Who would eat that? And how?
Heart 3 Comment 0
The #34 all the way to Bangkok: The toll-freeway above, the free-of-charge main highway below and the frontage road with an excellent shoulder on the very left
Heart 4 Comment 0
Approaching Bangkok the first klongs appeared
Heart 4 Comment 0
Getting closer to Bangkok I moved over to the actual highway as the frontage road started to clog up
Heart 2 Comment 0
The only obvious advantage about the maps.me route: It took me right through Lumphini Park and gave me some relief from the metropolitan traffic
Heart 6 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanYou might want to check out a free app. called Pocket Earth. It routed us through Bangkok from Sukumvit Rd to Mo Chit station up near Chatujak Market - ten miles through the heart of Bangkok and we actually loved the route.

Bruce and Andrea
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Bruce LellmanI might indeed try that one out, Bruce, as I still have to get out of here again...
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
The view from my 6th floor balcony over Bangkok´s skyline. The beige building on the left edge of the picture is Hualamphong Central Station
Heart 3 Comment 2
Ute NonhoffI know this one - but slightly different ;)
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Ute NonhoffDon´t tell me you stayed in the same hotel, Ute!
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
With the location of my hotel it was obvious where I would be tonight: Chinatown
Heart 3 Comment 0
A typical Chinese teahouse
Heart 1 Comment 0
All these people on the right are queuing to get into that restaurant. Better look somewhere else...
Heart 2 Comment 0
....like here but that was packed too....
Heart 3 Comment 0
....so I had a delicious Khao Gai at this stall. A tuk-tuk in the photo is compulsory when in Bangkok
Heart 3 Comment 0
Wat Traimit round the corner from my hotel
Heart 2 Comment 0
Chonburi - Bangkok
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 87 km (54 miles)
Total: 4,751 km (2,950 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0