Day 43: Sa Dec - Vinh Long - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

February 13, 2018

Day 43: Sa Dec - Vinh Long

Routing: some side street and #80

Yesterday I asked whether I had ever cycled less than 30 km in one day as I did just 28. Therefore today´s question has to be: Have I ever done less than 28 km on a full day of cycling without having any health or mechanical problems?  Yes! Today. 26.  If I do continue with such homoeopathic distances I will arrive in Malaysia around christmas....

The day started with the most yummy misunderstanding possible though. Last night I walked a street parallel to the river and saw a man eating a soup in a stall. I sat down, just pointed at his bowl and said: The same please! The same was actually the best broth I ever had in my whole life. Ever! It looked different than the Pho Bo`s I had so far but the lady didn´t understand my question whether it was called any different as well. She just pointed to the labelling on her cabinet and I thought I had eaten two bowls of Bo Bit Tet and went back this morning to order it again. What did I get served? A lovely meat dish of steak, minced meat, fried egg and potato on a sizzling plate.

I have time to talk about those things as the ride was over long before noon. I had started off on a bumpy but most enjoyable side road along the river which unfortunately only lasted for a bit less than half of the distance. The last kilometers had to be done on the very busy Hway 80 which was acceptable though due to a wide shoulder. When I got into town I was immediately fascinated by all the colour and market activities along the Mekong. My brief consideration to carry on a bit further as it was still so early turned into the opposite when I rolled past the Lo Phuc Hotel in that orchid pitch dominated side street. I saw their balconies facing the street and when I was shown the small but very bright, well equipped (fridge, excellent wifi, locker for the valuables) rooms for 300000 dong I instantly booked myself in for two nights. What I didn´t know then was the fact that stalls in the neighbourhood sell pets and as some of the pups are kept in cages outside their whining had impact on my sleep. I would still go back to that very same hotel again!

This is the glorious Pho Bo which I mistakenly held for...
Heart 2 Comment 0
... Bo Bit Tet (pronounced Todd). I am usually not the biggest fan of whole pieces of meat like steak but this one accompanied by some crunchy baguette was divine though!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back over to Sa Dec
Heart 0 Comment 0
Start of the unnumbered side road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Future captains
Heart 2 Comment 0
These two amazons were trying to sell their flowers to me and....
Heart 1 Comment 0
...I wish I would have had the opportunity to transport some.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Like them
Heart 3 Comment 0
Still....
Heart 2 Comment 0
...on that...
Heart 2 Comment 0
...lovely side road
Heart 2 Comment 0
The ferry taking me over to the QL 80
Heart 1 Comment 0
My company on that ferry
Heart 2 Comment 0
The QL 80
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Loc Phuc Hotel in Vinh Long with my little balcony on the very top of the picture
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sa Dec - Vinh Long
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 km (16 miles)
Total: 3,450 km (2,142 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0