Rest day in Vinh Long - Frankie goes to.....Indochina - CycleBlaze

February 14, 2018

Rest day in Vinh Long

On one side I consider myself lucky to be here in Vietnam during the build-up for the Chinese and Vietnamese New Year celebrations. On the other hand I am obviously a bit concerned what impact that will have on me or rather my cycling. I understand it is not like the Thai or Laos Songkran with water bombs being thrown at you but I am concerned about another related issue. In Sa Dec I spoke to a Vietnamese guy who had migrated to Canada 35 years ago. He is here to see his family for the festive season and warned me as - I can´t recall the exact figures - about 40% of fatal accidents occur during this particular period whereas mathematically it should be ca. 2%. Drink and drive obviously.

Well that´s a thing I will worry about come Friday, today I dive into the just and only positive side of the preparations. Vin Long is a sea of colour as the town is flamboyant with all the flower and plant stalls. Overwhelming! So you better like looking at floral pics....

My lovely room no. 321 in the Loc Phuc Hotel and....
Heart 3 Comment 0
....the view from the tiny balcony
Heart 3 Comment 0
I like having my first coffee in the morning down there where the businesses are getting started
Heart 3 Comment 0
These poor creatures kept me awake most of the night and I don´t even blame them for being unhappy. The little fellow on the left is still going....
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
My regular pineapple lady
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
It is as crazy as it looks!
Heart 3 Comment 0
If that scooter madness over the day was not good enough for you, you could always have dinner at this table in the middle of the market intersection
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
The owners of the hotel do prepare and sell this delicious sweetness too: some sort of rhubarb in a semolina dough, wrapped and cooked in banana leafs
Heart 2 Comment 0
The result: Bahn Thae (phonetically)
Heart 2 Comment 0
A truely dramatic performance
Heart 2 Comment 0
That´s my new plan (route and destinations) sticking to the short-days-on-the-bike philosophy
Heart 1 Comment 3
Leo van NoortTake good care Frank ! I have experienced the Vietnamees truck drivers and motor drivers drinking lots of wodka and go on driving. I don't remember if you have one, but I have a mirror to look the traffic behind me.
Leo
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Leo van NoortFirst of all: Enjoy the Dutch winter, Leo! Thank you for your advice regarding the mirror but I am not sure whether I really want to know what´s happening behind me all the time. Can you recall a situation when you believe the mirror helped you reacting to a threat approaching you from the rear? Interesting point, I am always prepared to learn....
Shame we couldn´t talk any longer down in Laos! Frank
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Leo van NoortTo Frank RoettgenHi Frank,
That's really true, I was also feeling not good after our separates ways....
It was good talking and share our experiences !
I don't look either all the time and of course they can surprise you, but I have had situations, that the road was small and see in the mirror a big truck coming driving very fast. I put my bicycle in the grass and wait till he passed. Of course it is not guaranteed.
I sent you by WeTransfer 2 movies. Hope you receive them !
Enjoy cycling and the amazing things you discover every day !
I already miss Asia....
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0