Le Fret to Kerlaz - French Fling - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2019

Le Fret to Kerlaz

I'm finally back on my planned schedule!  So I was in no hurry this morning because (1) it was raining and (2) the plan was for a relatively short day today.  So I slept in a bit, ate the last of my granola, and went in search of a bar or café to enjoy a coffee while I caught up on this journal.  I'd already decided I was not going to pay 12€ for the breakfast buffet on top of the 80€ for the room.

This little village has a good-sized hotel (by French village standards) complete with nice-looking restaurant, a couple of other restaurants, a small épicerie, but  nowhere to have a coffee!  I bought a pain aux raisins at the épicerie and took it back to my room.

The cheaper moorage at Le Fret, I assume. The boats are designed to be grounded, but I can't help but wonder how hard it is on the hulls when they're not quite afloat.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The hotel I stayed in dominates the little waterfront.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I packed up and left just before the 1100 check-out time and decided to skip riding to Camaret-sur-Mer in the rain.  Instead, I headed east through Lanvéoc and then southeast to connect with my planned route at Tal-ar-Groas, where all the roads seem to intersect.

The rain stopped shortly after that and the ride was quite pleasant.  I had booked a chambre d'hôte before I left, but knowing it was rural, I figured I'd better have a decent lunch.  I was told there was a kitchen I could use to prepare myself something, but groceries can be just as hard to find as restaurants!

Some friendly cows
Heart 0 Comment 0
That's the sea to the south
Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn't see anything in Telgruc-sur-Mer but Pentrez-Plage had multiple options.  Between these two villages was a steep (three-chevron) descent followed by a two-chevron climb.  I managed to ride up but caught up to another tourer pushing just as she remounted at the top.  She was older (than me maybe) and her set-up was what I think of as Euro-style:  flat handlebars, flat pedals, and all her gear piled on the back.  Of course, as soon as we came out of the ravine, the crosswind was back and she was definitely wobbly.  I said Bonjour when I passed, but she said something in French I couldn't understand.  I carried on, hoping she made it down the next descent okay since it was fully exposed to the crosswind.

Beach decor, Pentrez-Plage
Heart 0 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Looking back to the Crozon peninsula.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pentrez-Plage. Yup, it's windy!
Heart 0 Comment 0

After an omelette and glass of wine, the route was up and down to Locronan, another "petite cité de caractère".  After walking around for a while and buying a few things for a light supper, it was a nice downhill run to my accommodation.

There's Locronan! Unfortunately, there's a descent and and ascent between it and me.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Locronan
Heart 0 Comment 0
This shop in Locronan has some very nice things. The man did the weaving and his wife the designs. Out of my price range, sadly. It also had the usual Breton striped items
Heart 0 Comment 0
Locronan
Heart 0 Comment 0
St-Ronan church, Locronan.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside St-Ronan church, Locronan. Somehow this window looks different than the usual.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside St-Ronan church, Locronan
Heart 0 Comment 0
Locronan. Watch your step if you use that door!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 2,733 km (1,697 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0