Day 8: Prince Rupert to Kasiks Wilderness Resort - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2010

Day 8: Prince Rupert to Kasiks Wilderness Resort

When I woke up the skies were stilll grey and raining. I was very happy that I had set up underneath the gazebo out of the rain.

There was another cyclist in the campground who was from Georgetown - about 30 km from where I live. He has cycled across Canada twice. This time he took the train to Winnipeg and cycle here. He's on his way to cycle the Queen Charlotte Islands. He's then going down to Vancouver and taking the train back. He said he had a lot of this type of weather on the way out here.

I hung around the campground till about 10 AM, comtemplating staying another day. In the end I decided to move on.

It turned out that today was the 100th anniversary of Prince Rupert. This was also the weekend of their Seafest. Unfortunately, it rained on their parade.

It was pouring when I left Prince Rupert, but the weather improved as the day went on. The road followed the Skeena River for the most part and had a few gentle climbs. As the weather cleared there were many views of waterfalls along the cliffs.

I stopped a bit early mainly because I was tired of the rain. The weather then became sunny, so I could have pushed on to Terrace had I wanted. However, it worked out well. I stayed at Kasiks Wilderness Resort ($18.90 for the night). It was run by Troy who was very friendly fellow and a fine cook. I was able to purchase a dinner at the cafe there. I had the campground to myself.

http://www.kasiks.ca/

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=54.31552,-129.35305&ll=54.31552,-129.35305&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The rain was good for creating lots of waterfalls.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 88 km (55 miles)
Total: 580 km (360 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0