Day 67: Churchbridge to Shoal Lake - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2010

Day 67: Churchbridge to Shoal Lake

In the morning, I met Reinhart from Salmon Arm BC. I was expecting the usual conversation. Most cycle tourists are familiar with it. I have considered getting cards printed up to save myself time. However, Reinhart was able to break through that barrier and we had a good conversation. He is a karate teacher. He retired recently and he and his wife are re-doing a trip they did in 1974. He spent his high school years in Churchbridge and has noticed the changes. It has a real community spirit now. Before, he felt that people made friends fast, but then they moved away and never contacted each other again.

I crossed the border into Manitoba today. It began to rain almost immediately. After about 30 km, the paved shoulders disappeared. Hopefully, these are not bad omens.

I learned my lesson from the other day. I went and got groceries immediately after setting up. It's a good thing. I arrived at the store at 5:40 PM and left at 6:05 PM. They closed at 6:00 PM.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=50.43385,-100.59418&ll=50.43385,-100.59418&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Good bye to Saskatchewan.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hello to Manitoba.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view at the 8,000km mark of the trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 122 km (76 miles)
Total: 8,048 km (4,998 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0