Day 65: Colonsay to Wynyard - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2010

Day 65: Colonsay to Wynyard

I felt pretty tired today. I think it was from a lack of decent breakfast.

In the morning, I met a cyclist from Vancouver who had started in St. John's.

On the road today, I heard my bike making an unusual noise. It took me a short while to figure it out. There was a wire in my tire that was hitting on the inside of my fender. I was able to diagnose it and remove the wire before it caused a flat.

I stayed at the Wyngard Regional Campground ($15). It's a nice place with free showers and lots of shady trees.

A couple of days ago the Kindle downloaded a new version of software. There are a couple of significant benefits. Firstly, it is now possible to group books into collections. More importantly, the browser is now enabled. Previously, it would only go to Wikipedia. Now I will be able to check weather forecasts any time I am somewhere with cell phone coverage and perhaps even look up campgrounds. The browser is limited - pretty much text only, but this will be very useful for planning.

I hope to make it to Yorkton tomorrow. Further would be better since they're calling for rain in most places on Tuesday. It should be sunny again on Wednesday.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=51.7449,-104.20163&ll=51.7449,-104.20163&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

A duck family.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I spooked a duck. I have found the Yellowhead Highway to be more interesting than the Trans-Canada. There are some wetlands and other interesting areas here. The Trans-Canada can be mind-numbingly straight in Saskatchewan.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 141 km (88 miles)
Total: 7,721 km (4,795 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0