Day 52: Summit Lake to Fort Nelson - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2010

Day 52: Summit Lake to Fort Nelson

There was a big climb to Steamboat, and a few other climbs, but it was a fairly easy day. I started at the highest point of the Alcan and tomorrow when I cross the bridge out of town I will be at the lowest part of the Alcan. So, there was a lot of down hill. As an added bonus, there was a good tailwind all day.

The biggest excitement for the day occurred when a guy's trailer rear wheel locked up as he passed me in the morning. There was a lot of screeching of tires, but he handled it very well. I spoke to him and let him know which wheel locked and that I was impressed with his driving. Since I was of no further use, I then continued on my merry way. I was quite surprised when I pulled into the campground in Fort Nelson that he was at the campsite next to me! He is a handyman and was able to fix it himself.

When I was in town, I tried to send some pictures over the internet without any success. The visitor centre was having some problems with their network (it would have been free). The library would not allow me to connect external drives to the computer. They were nice about it though. There might have been a coffee shop that had wireless, but it was getting late by that point. The world will just have to wait.

Daylight has now become meaningful again for the first time since somewhere on the Cassiar Highway. In the morning daylight means it is time to get up. In the evening, the absence of daylight means it is time to go to bed. For a few weeks, I was never saw darkness.

I stayed at the Westend Campground ($22.40) in Fort Nelson.

I would like to make it to Buckinghorse Provincial Campground tomorrow, but it is a long day (175 km) with lots of climbing. Alternatively, I could make it to Prophet River. It is a provincial campground that has been closed, but everything is still there. My source was the gentleman at the Fort Nelson visitor centre. He was well informed and very helpful.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=58.80244,-122.7198&ll=58.80244,-122.7198&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Impressive camouflage.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Part of a monster downhill.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 138 km (86 miles)
Total: 5,803 km (3,604 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0