Day 49: Watson Lake to Coal River - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2010

Day 49: Watson Lake to Coal River

The day started well, but then about 2:00 PM it started to rain hard. It continued on for the next couple of hours. When I pulled into Coal River, it had let up, but I was still wet. I stopped in at the lodge there and asked about the campground - it cost $17. I then asked about a room - he said there was a biker's special for only $50 and then smiled remarkably like the Grinch. I said that the weather looked to be clearing up and that I would take a campsite. He seemed disappointed. Unfortunately, the grill had closed so I had to boil myself some spaghetti for dinner.

There was a thunderstorm again in the evening. The flaw with the tent re-appeared - rain fell on the groundsheet and then drained under the tent. The problem was mostly by the entrance, so I fixed it by putting a big stick underneath the groundsheet so that the rain drained away from the tent.

I stayed at the Coal River Lodge ($17). In terms of milestones, I crossed into BC today.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=59.65711,-126.9508&ll=59.65711,-126.9508&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 147 km (91 miles)
Total: 5,436 km (3,376 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0