Day 4: Courtney to Elk Creek Recreation Area - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2010

Day 4: Courtney to Elk Creek Recreation Area

It was quite cold when I woke up. I figured that this meant that there were clear skies and that it would be a good day for cycling.

Just outside of the campground, I met a lady on a bike (with a baby!) whose handlebars were loose. I was able to tighten them using a 6mm allen wrench. She was quite grateful. Having done my good deed for the day, I carried on. On the back roads on the way out I saw a couple of deer. Unfortunately, no pictures.

I made a couple of minor bike repairs today. A bolt on my rack came loose so I had to tighten it. As well, I was hearing a ticking noise when I was pedalling. I was able to track it down to my chain. Upon closer inspection, it became apparent that my chain was about to break. I pulled into a gas station and removed a couple of links. I'll have to remember not to shift into the big-big combination. The lesson here is that you should pay attention to the sounds your bike is making and understand the causes.

Along the way I passed a bicycle tourist couple going up a hill. He was pushing her bike and they did not seem too happy. I figured it was best to let them sort things out and didn't stop to speak to them.

I stayed at Elk Creek Recreation area ($5) just beyond the turn off for Sayward. It was a well forested campground about a kilometer to the store/gas station at the turn off for Sayward. The store let me fill up on water in their sink. It was a pretty good set up.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=50.31249,-125.92894&ll=50.31249,-125.92894&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was quite excited to see this bald eagle. However, I passed the Eagle Nest Hotel as soon as I moved on. So, it is probably quite common place here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 114 km (71 miles)
Total: 295 km (183 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0