Day 38: Midway Lake to Rock River Campground: Mosquito Campground Re-visited - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2010

Day 38: Midway Lake to Rock River Campground: Mosquito Campground Re-visited

It wasn't raining when I started out, but there were some low lying clouds. Since I would be going over the Wright Pass (1000 m) it seemed likely that the clouds would turn into fog and likely rain.

In the first few kilometres, I noticed that my progress was very slow. Initially, it seemed like it was a combination of the uphill and the soft roads. However, when I stopped for a break the bike did not roll downhill. Upon further investigation, I discovered that the front fender was packed with mud. I must have picked it up in the construction site yesterday and it hardened overnight. I had to take out a pen and chip mud out from the inside of the fender. Problem solved - the cycling got a bit easier.

Near the top of the pass, it got pretty ugly. The fog turned into a cold rain at a couple of points. The winds were quite strong. The roads were soft with many ruts from trucks driving over them. I was hoping for the rain shadow effect when I crossed to the other side of the pass. The road conditions improved once I crossed the Yukon border and the rain stopped. However, the wind was strong enough that it caused problems handling the bike. When I got to the bottom, I pulled into the infamous mosquito campground. After some time to warm up, I decided that all things considered it would be best just to stay put for the day.

In the evening, the winds let up and the clouds seemed high. There seems to be a chance of a decent day tomorrow. I asked another camper about the forecast. He said there is a 60% chance of rain tomorrow and 40 or 50% chance of rain the following day. Good thing that I don't believe in forecasts (or the Easter Bunny).

Despite my best efforts to avoid it, I am staying at the Rock River Campground ($12) again. One week ago I was in the same place headed in the other direction. The last time I was here, the mosquitoes were the worst I have ever seen. Thankfully, this time there is enough wind that the mosquitoes are not a problem.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=66.91433,-136.35683&ll=66.91433,-136.35683&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Sloppy looking road at the NWT/Yukon border. The roads were like this in the NWT today.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 3,863 km (2,399 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0