Day 36: Inuvik to Rengleng River - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2010

Day 36: Inuvik to Rengleng River

I stopped in at the visitor centre to check the weather forecast and check out campsites for the return trip along the Dempster. While I was in there, I met the Marshall family who I met on the flight to Tuktuk yesterday and gave me a lift to the Great Northern Arts Festival. They are Wayne (father), Angela (mother), Valerie and Keith(an air cadet who sat in the co-pilots seat yesterday).

Seeing how two locals have referred to the Rock River Campground as the 'mosquito campground', I have decided to try to avoid that one the way back. I stopped today at Rengleng River, which looks like others have used it before. If the weather co-operates tomorrow, I will go on to Midway Lake. This is a shanty town that is used one weekend a year for a music festival. The one regret I have about this is I won't get a chance to speak to Robert Alexie at the campground near Peel River.

It was sunny, clear and warm all day today. The mosquitoes were not a problem until I stopped. However, there were flies all day long. Unfortunately, I cannot outrun them, so I had dozens of them buzzing me (and occasionally biting me) for the whole day. Mosquitoes can be outrun and they are no problem if you are moving.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=67.75555,-133.86182&ll=67.75555,-133.86182&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Three attractions in Inuvik - the Inukshuk, the Igloo Church and the most northerly traffic lights in the world!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Art in front of the visitor centre in Inuvik. The staff there are very helpful.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here we go again!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 97 km (60 miles)
Total: 3,663 km (2,275 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0