Day 23: Pelly Crossing to Moose Lake - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2010

Day 23: Pelly Crossing to Moose Lake

The day started with a steep climb away from the Pelly River. On the way up was the small monument dedicated to Pelly. Later in the day, at the Stewart Crossing, I met the Pelly's again. They are on their way to see Mayo and Keno. They wished me well and gave me a couple of toffees. I promised to pull them out when I needed strength.

There is a gas station and a small store at Stewart Crossing as well as a tourist information booth. However, the campground closed last fall. There seems to be a lot of that in the Yukon. There were a number of places closed in Watson Lake. There was one town on the Alcan Highway that was simply marked as closed.

I stayed at Moose Creek Campground ($12) and walked down the road to Moose Creek Lodge where I had dinner and a shower ($4). I mentioned that I normally wouldn't pay that much for a shower and the lady at the lodge got quite defensive. I must be more careful.

I can't remember the last time I was awake when it was dark.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=63.50739,-137.02923&ll=63.50739,-137.02923&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

The monument to Pelly with the town and river in the background.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stewart River crossing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 98 km (61 miles)
Total: 2,348 km (1,458 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0