Day 117: Clarenville to Whitbourne - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

September 29, 2010

Day 117: Clarenville to Whitbourne

The weather was exciting today. It was windy all day. I started out into a headwind. It became a cross wind later and finally a tailwind for the last 15 km. It started out as a mix of sun and cloud and then quickly clouded over. At a couple places there was heavy fog coupled with strong crosswinds and a narrow shoulder complete with a rumble strip. I am not used to having fog and wind together. I spoke to the lady at the Tourist Information Centre about it and she did not think it was unusual. Apparently, the warm Gulf current comes up the west part of the island and the cool Arctic current comes down the east side of the island. The warm water and cool air results in fog.

I stopped off at the Moorland Motel ($66.67) and the junction of 80 and 81 with Highway 1. It's a nice setup. There is a Mary Brown restaurant in the motel and there is a gas station with a convenience store next door.

When I visited the convenience store for snacks I got a Terry Fox loonie with my change. I considered this a good omen.

Back at the motel I was able to relax and watch some TV. There was the Toronto Blue Jays' last home game of the season. They honoured the outgoing manager Cito Gaston. As well, there was a documentary on Terry Fox directed by Steve Nash. It seemed like an appropriate thing to watch before my last day of real cycling on the trip.

I took care of a bit of business too. I made a reservation for a couple of nights at the St. John's Hostel. This will be my last accommodation for the trip.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=47.44813,-53.55252&ll=47.44813,-53.55252&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

A helicopter leaving Clarenville. Presumably, they are helping out the areas hit by Hurricane Igor.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view towards Clarenville from the Trans-Canada Highway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The last 100 miles.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View at the 14,000 km mark of the trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 95 km (59 miles)
Total: 14,255 km (8,852 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0