Day off in Rawlins - North from FoCo in NoCo - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2012

Day off in Rawlins

The wind continued all last night. It wasn't too bad when I got up this morning, but I had decided I need a day of rest to come to terms with it. The "front desk lady" from the campsite said this was a normal wind, and I was really struggling with it. So I waited until the office opened at 7 so I could retrieve my leftover pizza, and also get some hot coffee, and then slowly packed up. The plan was to hit the library when it opened at 10:00. I ended up there early, and sat at a picnic table outside for a bit, fiddling with my phone (which finally has reception, hurray!) until it opened.

It's a friendly library. A bunch of kids arrived at the same time I did, and we occupied the bank of computers. I was checking e-mail and updating this journal, and they were watching videos, playing games and checking facebook. I heard their music from their earphones. I also found out that the kid next to me, who I thought might be 10 years old, had gotten back together with his girlfriend after a break-up. I was trying not to laugh out loud.

Next was lunch! I went to a Thai restaurant recommended by the librarian. They had a lunch buffet which was really, really, REALLY good. Of course, I was hungry and hadn't really had any good food (unless pizza counts) since I left Fort Collins.

I left the restaurant to head to the hotel, but got sidetracked at a supermarket. I just picked up some fruit and snacks for the ride. I think the next few days are going to be pretty remote. Now I'm at the Hampton Inn. I used some Hilton Honors points for the night, and the staff has been treating me well.

Today's ride: 7 miles (11 km)
Total: 126 miles (203 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0