How not to get lost - Flower city->Steel city->Capital city - CycleBlaze

How not to get lost

Once I reach the Pittsburgh and get on the GAP trail, it is easy to follow it to Cumberland, MD where it intersects with the C&O trail which is also easy to follow to Washington, DC

Getting from Rochester, NY to Pittsburgh, PA via two lane roads is a different story. I first picked out campgrounds and hotels along the way trying to keep each days ride to approximately 50 miles. I then used this method to ensure I do not get lost:

  1. In Google maps, choose the start point and end point for the days ride using biking as the mode of transportation. This generates a route taking me down two lane highways
  2. Google maps can generate a URL for the route, copy this URL
  3. Go to the Maps to GPS website, paste in the URL generated in Google maps
  4. A gpx file is generated and downloaded
  5. Pull the GPX file into Garmin Connect website
  6. Transfer the route from Garmin Connect to my Garmin Edge Explore GPS

I now have turn by turn direction for the portion of the route that goes from Rochester to Pittsburg

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0