Almost Packed for the Trip: Did I Forget Anything? - Searching for Fidel (Tour 9) - 2009 🇨🇺 - CycleBlaze

December 29, 2008

Almost Packed for the Trip: Did I Forget Anything?

Never did I suspect that a few weeks before Christmas it would be so difficult to find bicycle boxes to bring the bikes to Cuba. After a few phone calls I started to get a bit worried. I was not too keen on bringing the bikes in just a plastic bag. (Note to self: order a pair of nylon/denier zip-up bicycle bags for the next trip. They fold up nicely and can be stored or carried with you. With a few cardboard inserts they will provide fairly good protection for the bikes.) I finally found one at a store about 100 km from home.

Next was to decide exactly what to bring. With the type of trip we were planning we chose to leave all of the camping gear at home. No racks. No panniers. We'll be doing a big no-no: tools and supplies on our backs in small backpacks. Enough tools and supplies in case anything breaks down. Gearing for just about anything. Tires with kevlar bands to protect the tubes from the ever-present Cuban thorns we have been warned about. To pad the bikes I used some donated clothing which we will give away along the tour.

Kind of an unusual setup, I know. It goes against what I have always done. However, rather than be somewhere where we wished and wished and wished that we had our very own bicycles to explore the region, now we will be able to do exactly that! No more one-speed hotel bikes that literally come apart as you pedal along.

The bikes were packed into the boxes, taped up and are in readiness for the drive to Toronto and the subsequent flight to Varadero. We have been assured by the tour company that we will be able to put the boxes onto the bus from the airport to the hotel and back. Here's hoping!

My Cannondale modified for touring
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0