The Main Ideas: Helping out where we can - Searching for Fidel (Tour 9) - 2009 🇨🇺 - CycleBlaze

December 28, 2008

The Main Ideas: Helping out where we can

As many people know, there is a trade embargo which greatly affects Cuba. They are short of many necessities. I have decided to combine our trip with donations of supplies to small villages' medical centres and schools. On our daily rides we will head into various villages away from the resorts and seek out where it would be best to make these donations. Our plan is to document both the cycling as well as the donating here on CGOAB. Any photos of people will have permission granted (otherwise I will not take the pics).

I'm not sure how this will go or how far we will be able to get, but, we are going to do our best to make at least a small difference to the places we reach.

I have spent the morning organizing the donations. Locally, I procured a number of pharmaceutical items: tensor bandages, children's vitamins, acetaminophen tablets, latex gloves, polysporin, and a few other items. Does it ever accumulate quickly - before I knew it, I was out of space in my luggage to bring anything more. I have a call in to one of the local doctor's offices, and he said that he would see what they could do. I apologized that it was so late, so even if he is unable to help, at least I have the other supplies. From what I have read, many of the medical centres and hospitals are not only lacking in supplies but have NO supplies. I have read accounts of medicine cabinets being 100% totally empty. I look forward to making a small difference if I can.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0