How can you help?: If we each contribute a small part we all accomplish a lot. - Searching for Fidel (Tour 9) - 2009 🇨🇺 - CycleBlaze

December 29, 2008

How can you help?: If we each contribute a small part we all accomplish a lot.

Here is one of the sites that prompted me to do similar (http://www.njttoronto.ca/index.htm) I suppose I could have contacted them directly... maybe next time. What they do is arrange humanitarian packages in suitcases which regular tourists bring to a medical centre or hospital. The package items have been donated, the people are regular tourists who just happen to bring these supplies so the costs are kept to a minimum - everything goes to the people who need things.

As I type this note, I am on hold with my airline to see if I can have a humanitarian package allowed as extra baggage (thus incurring no extra fees). For those of you considering this, make sure you ask in advance, and if it is set up sooner than I am doing, likely you will have an exemption in place as soon as you get your ticket.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0