Rome to Lock 21 to Syracuse: Two boring days condensed into one boring page - Heading for a (Colourful) Fall - CycleBlaze

October 14, 2016

Rome to Lock 21 to Syracuse: Two boring days condensed into one boring page

October 13:

I desperately needed rest but couldn't afford another night in a motel room; Rome was far too expensive, plus I had already booked a motel in Syracuse tomorrow.

But it was raining, and canals are boring enough in good weather. I was also feeling the beginnings of a migraine.

So I biked the arduous 15-ish kilometres along the Old Erie Canal trail, set up camp at Lock 21, and spent the rest of the day in my tent, aside from bathroom trips.

Now, the astounding thing about Lock 21 is that, despite having an official camping area, it does not have a bathroom.

Not an official one anyway.

October 14:

The ride to Syracuse was dull, a bisy road through an endless line of rural homes. The shoulder was wide, though, so zoning out was possible, and even recommended along that route.

The Syracuse area was a shock, appearing as though all roads were intended to lead to the various interstates, and not to accommodate bicycles or pedestrians. Cars rule the world here. There was a bikeway parallel to the interstate for a couple kilometres; the entrance is at the K-Mart parking lot, beside the spooky abandoned movie theatre. I recommend both the theatre and the bikeway.

At the motel, the man in front of me was turned away; there were no rooms because of the game. The clerk didn't know which motels might have rooms left.

I felt smug for having booked ahead (at a great rate), checked in, then asked, "So what's the game?"

"Virginia Tech and SU."

I nodded, pretending to know what she was talking about, then wheeled my bike to my room, expertly knocking over the Wet Floor sign.

I decided it was a college football game, and SU was likely Syracuse University or something. Crazy that a college football game is big enough business to fill a city's hotels.

Lock 21 sunset
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lock 21 at dawn, in the other direction
Heart 0 Comment 0
My room at the Super 8, with a nice photo of a path through autumn woods, to help you forget you're in the middle of the land of cars
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 72 km (45 miles)
Total: 1,894 km (1,176 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0