On to Long Lake: The last day of fall - Heading for a (Colourful) Fall - CycleBlaze

October 10, 2016

On to Long Lake: The last day of fall

I woke up to the same dull grey light, filtered through the clouds, that was in the sky when I fell asleep.

It better not be midnight. Let's see... 6:11. Okay, time to get up.

Sleeping bag warm. Not sleeping bag cold. Sleeping bag wins.

Bladder full.

...

Bladder full. Okay, FINE, I'll get up.

It was chilly, gloomy, the clouds in grey layers. A sign said 35 degrees (which, in real temperature, is just above freezing) when I rolled into Tupper Lake at 10:00.

The wind was taunting me, just strong enough to be annoying, flicking a cold reminder at my face now and then: Hey Stephanie, guess what? I could make your day SO miserable if I wanted to.

The sun came out after Tupper Lake but it was still too cold to ride without a jacket.

At Long Lake, a man who worked in a bike shop came over to talk. He and his wife invited me to stay with them in Newcomb, which was 18 miles out of my way and therefore might as well have been on the other side of the world. I had to decline the offer.

I stopped for the day just past Long Lake; having heard the weather was supposed to be fantastic tomorrow, I figured I'd save my legs for a longer day in warmer conditions. And so I pushed my bike down a "canoe carry" trail and set up at a lean-to. It was cold enough that there were no mosquitoes, but after it got dark I was uneasy about flying squirrel attacks and drifted off into a cautious sleep.

Wait, when did I leave? Someone didn't do her research...
Heart 0 Comment 0
More lakes and leaves. But fewer leaves than before; I'm starting to see lots of bare trees.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Long Lake
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking out of my lean-to
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 71 km (44 miles)
Total: 1,661 km (1,031 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0