Monty's Bay to Port Kent: The second last day of summer - Heading for a (Colourful) Fall - CycleBlaze

October 6, 2016

Monty's Bay to Port Kent: The second last day of summer

I accomplished something great this morning: not only did I hold up traffic through a one-lane construction zone, I held it up afterwards, too, by getting cars to follow my lead.

They were laying asphalt and had already done the other lane, so there was a ridge, a huge drop to get back into my lane. I didn't want to bike over it in front of the car close behind me, so I stayed on the left (there was no oncoming traffic).

So did the car behind me. Even after I pointed and gestured toward the other lane. Better yet, there was another car following the first one.

And that was the most interesting part of a very short day spent dawdling and generally taking it easy along Lake Champlain and beyond. I was pleased to note many migrating geese along the shoreline, almost certainly making a huge mess.

Lake Champlain at dawn
Heart 0 Comment 0
View of Vermont across Lake Champlain
Heart 0 Comment 0

I went to the Walmart in Plattsburgh to pick up a SIM card. The employee warned me T-Mobile had the worst coverage in the area, but it was the only carrier I could use with my phone and not spend a fortune on.

I needed that fortune for groceries. I was expecting prices to be lower here, but they were similar to Canada, meaning they were far more expensive due to the exchange rate. I looked at the prices, I gasped, I collapsed in a twitching heap.

Okay, maybe not, but I wanted to when it was time to pay. $62 for a SIM card, gloves, hat, and a couple days of food. No more eating for me!

Handling US cash was weird. I found myself scrutinizing and judging all the creases, folded corners, and worn areas. The banknotes felt fragile after the plastic Canadian money, and the last time I saw US cash was in Central Asia, where banknotes had to be pristine to be accepted. Amazing how something like that stayed with me, even two years later.

Taken from a wildlife viewing platform. This photo is indeed teeming with wildlife, though not the macroscopic kind.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I spent most of my day doing things like trying to take photos of bridges in my mirror.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I found a campground early, and because it was hot and sunny I could dry out all my clothes and camping gear. Nights have been damp, the dew so heavy it might as well have been raining every night. This has not been good for my gear or clothing--the dampness permeates everything.

Chores finished, it was time to explore. There were only a few seasonal campers left and they didn't talk to me. I went to the deserted games area and saw half a dozen chairs that looked like they were made of hospital beds. After a while, curiosity overcame my initial aversion, and I discovered their wheels rolled really well on the concrete.

The late afternoon sun revealed interesting shadows through my tent.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have to admit, I'm feeling lonely. In an outgoing country where there is no language barrier, there should be no problem. But the few interactions I've had have been bland, and nobody understands me. Seriously, these people don't appreciate (or even recognize) dry humour or the absurd. What am I going to do??

Today's ride: 48 km (30 miles)
Total: 1,422 km (883 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0