Campsite on 73 to Lake Placid: I still love climbing - Heading for a (Colourful) Fall - CycleBlaze

October 8, 2016

Campsite on 73 to Lake Placid: I still love climbing

I was not at all prepared for the weather this morning. High Peaks, October, you'd think I'd be ready for some chilly temperatures. And I was.

Which is why I was so bewildered when I woke up and noticed my sleeping bag was completely unzipped. I was even more bewildered when I got out of the tent and was comfortable in a t-shirt.

And I had camped at a high point, too. Even the huge descent that immediately greeted me wasn't chilly (after I finished pulling twigs out of my wheels and hair; it wasn't the easiest trek back out to the road, and I was not happy to see a tent in a parking lot after I put so much effort into observing the camping regulations).

What else can I say about the day? Cars, climbing, clouds, fantastic views of fall colours at their best. I think the pictures are worth several thousand words, so I'll shut up now, except to brag about racing the rain and winning. Take that, Nature.

When I was unlocking my bike after a meal in Lake Placid, a young guy rushed out of Subway to catch me before I left. He had biked across Canada a couple years ago, and being Canadian, was pretty much apologizing for talking to me, so it was a short conversation, and mostly about the impending weather. There are a surprising number of cyclists out there; I like meeting them. I didn't get to do that in Europe.

Not a bad way to start the day, on 73
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think they put this barn here just for tourist photos. There were several very nice ways to shoot it. I spent most of the day hoping, in vain, for a bit of sun to light up the trees.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fishing in Wilmington
Heart 0 Comment 0
"All-American Food." Welcome Canadians. I saw Canadian flags throughout the Adirondacks, a bit surprising--there were no American flags in Canada.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Whiteface Mountain is red. Many people taking photos, then turning their cameras away from the mountain and toward that bear made of hay bales.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Along Highway 86
Heart 0 Comment 0
No shoulder along this part, but the roads were usually good, though still busy.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Quit living in the past. I don't care that you hosted the Olympics before I was born. You have so much else to brag about.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 62 km (39 miles)
Total: 1,548 km (961 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0