Success! My Wheel Dolly for Transporting a Bike Box - Spring Flavours of Spain & Portugal (Tour 23) - 2023  ðŸ‡ªðŸ‡¸ 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

May 14, 2023

Success! My Wheel Dolly for Transporting a Bike Box

A 'skateboard' for a cardboard box

Here is the gadget I used to roll my boxed bike around when navigating the Metro then streets to my Madrid hotel, then from my Lisbon hotel via metro to the airport. I have three nylon straps around the box to hold it closed and loosen the centre one to slip this gadget under the box lengthwise, kind of like a mini skateboard. Then I retighten the strap. With the bolts digging into the bottom of the box and the strap holding it there, it doesn't slip out of place. The first attempt was near one end but the box was tricky to manoeuvre. Centred worked quite well.

The wheels are hard plastic so they roll pretty well and are light. They wear somewhat but I should get one more trip out of this set.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The plastic, though with some flex, is very durable, but I still used washers to strengthen things. I used Nyloc nuts to make sure nothing jiggled apart as I bumped over tiles, cobblestones or rough asphalt.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The casters are full 360 degree swivel casters. They came from our old dehumidifier that had died and I scavenged useful bits from it. The bolt heads have to be shallow enough to allow the casters to fully rotate.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The teaspoon gives an idea of size. I ran the 'skateboard' long side to long side of box so the strap could straddle it between both wheels.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kelly IniguezDo you take it off when you get to the ticket counter?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Brent IrvineTo Kelly IniguezYes. The nylon straps have nylon clips that allow me to easily loosen the centre strap so I can slip the skateboard in /out and then retighten the straps. The gadget is really light so I just buried it at the bottom of a pannier until the end of the tour.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago