A Bittersweet Farewell to a Well-Travelled Friend - Spring Flavours of Spain & Portugal (Tour 23) - 2023  ðŸ‡ªðŸ‡¸ 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

May 18, 2023

A Bittersweet Farewell to a Well-Travelled Friend

Time to say good-bye

Back in the 1980s I was just learning about cycle touring and was starting to amass the gear I needed. After my first tour in 1986 I realized that I needed something much better than plain old running shoes for my feet. I bought the Avocet 40 touring shoes - they were a big deal back then.

These shoes are light despite having a steel plate in the base to prevent the foot from flexing while on the bike. They were also flexible enough to permit very comfortable walking. These shoes were so comfy, in fact, that they were my regular touring shoe for pretty much every tour since 1989. They have logged thousands of pedal strokes, and hundreds or thousands of footsteps.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Just before this tour I looked over these friends to find that they were starting to look a little worn. I felt I could squeeze yet another tour out of them, though. Right or wrong, as you see in these photos, I may have pushed things by one tour too many. They were still comfy on the bike and walking around, but they very quickly broke apart here and there.

Heart 0 Comment 0

So, they are done. If my next pair are this good, I'll be well into my 80s when it's time to give up on them!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Jacquie GaudetLucky you! The shoes I bought in 2018 are now desperately in need of replacement. Their predecessors were purchased after our first bike trip with the kids in 2006, when I realized my feet were bigger than they used to be.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Brent IrvineHaha. Same here - the 1980s Brent had smaller feet!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago