May 6, 2023: Vila Nova da Foz Côa to Trevões - Spring Flavours of Spain & Portugal (Tour 23) - 2023  ðŸ‡ªðŸ‡¸ 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

May 6, 2023

May 6, 2023: Vila Nova da Foz Côa to Trevões

LOTS of tough uphill

Heart 0 Comment 0

Casas do Prior, € 65 with breakfast

When I say that I prefer to tour in hilly terrain because of its beauty, sometimes I end up pushing the bike up some or many of the hills. Yes, today was one of those days. When I was planning the route I chose one section kind of on a whim since it took me along some tertiary roads (aka possibly paved former goat path) though I could have stayed on a secondary or primary road.

Fortunately the morning started with yet another included breakfast, though this time it was a bit meagre in terms of the variety. Just the same I quickly got rolling, up through the centre of town then out and down into the valley to cross the motorway then immediately a big climb back up to 700 m. This one I made without much difficulty since the grade was manageable. Helping me out was that it was cloudy out and actually misted a wee bit so I was kept fairly comfortable and not overheating.

Pookie readying for the day. He has been my mascot since I borrowed him from my son Alex when he was a wee lad. -- Vila Nova da Foz Côa, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Out back of the residencial gives a hint of the kind of day ahead of me. I head straight for those mountains today. -- Vila Nova da Foz Côa, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
The hills I have to cross are absolutely covered in terraces of cherries, almonds, and olives. -- Vila Nova da Foz Côa, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
The little church in the old part of town as I headed out towards a day of climbing. -- Vila Nova da Foz Côa, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Just above centre in the photo is the hill I just climbed and you can see where I descended higher up (actually the other side of the valley). -- Vila Nova da Foz Côa, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Almost to the summit of the first climb I stopped to take a break. So far, so good. No walking yet. -- Between Foz Côa and Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was climbing and descending fairly well when suddenly my route diverted 90 degrees onto a stone road that was bumpy, narrow, steeply down and not very highway-ish. But beautiful... yup.

Most of the rest of today's ride was up tiny roads/paths then down the other side, often climbing up to a magnificent hilltop village where the old-timers slowly watched as I crawled past. I was in 'old Portugal' here where some of the residents were slowly working their ways up a street whilst clinging to their cane. In one town, a man stopped and scooped up water from the community spring. I'm telling you, this was off of the beaten track.  

The 'scenic route' took me over many mountains and through many hilltop villages which were absolutely beautiful. -- Between Foz Côa and Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
And pretty well every hill up and down was covered with terraced orchards. -- Between Foz Côa and Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

Through all of this climbing, surrounding me were the ever-present terraced hills now with increasingly more cherries, but still mostly almonds. Almonds, almonds, everywhere.

A few more times the clouds built up and a mist started so I had to cover up my GPS to keep any stray droplets from getting in. This made it tricky to see my route. If you see bright blue on my bike in any of the photos, that is a plastic bag over my Brooks saddle to keep it dry. Apparently they do not do well if they get soaked. With the price of the saddle and the time it takes to break them in - I cover it if rain threatens.

This spot was particularly scenic and particularly brutally steep, so not only did I stop for APs but for a well-needed rest. This home appears abandoned though I could hear farmers working the fields nearby. -- Between Foz Côa and Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ths 'scenic' portion was like a ladder. Interestingly it was made of somewhat rounded stones and steep which made it impossible for me to climb. Even walking was tough. -- Between Foz Côa and Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was starting to burn out. I had less than 50 km to ride today, but I was going so slowly that it was taking me forever. It was 1 pm and I still had not yet arrived - that was 4-1/2 hours of continuous tough cycling. If nothing else, I'll be in remarkable shape!

I was relieved to return to a bigger road and I zipped along, but then the exit to my destination town had me riding another bunch of km over several more tough climbs.

And then I got to town. And what a pretty town. My GPS had not led me exactly to the right spot but when I looked online I found out where to go and within a few moments had arrived. The cleaning lady had just finished and she sent out the woman who hands over the keys and sorts things out. She pointed out a spot beside the stairway where I could keep my bike... um, no, I thought to myself. I have it in a safe spot, on papers to keep things tidy, and I can keep my eyes on it. I'll ask for forgiveness rather than permission. It is spotlessly clean, mind you. 

I struggled to town and though tricky to find, I eventually did find my casa - and it is nice with nice views of the countryside. -- Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

The woman showed me where my breakfast food items are stored in the fridge and told me that the breads would arrive in the morning. In the common kitchen area there was a huge bowl of fresh fruits which she said I was welcome to eat, so as soon as she left I gulped down an orange, two pears and a few biscuits. Shortly afterwards I went to the little supermarket for some food to make my self a supper since there are no restaurants in this village and the closest one is nine km away, and that is not going to happen.

In this sleepy town just around the corner from my casa is this church with the cheerful flag banner things flapping in the wind. I am guessing they are related to semana santa. -- Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
The banners led up another street toward where a family had had a load of firewood delivered to their front door though I am not sure that is what the banners are celebrating. -- Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 2 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesFunny guy you are.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Brent IrvineTo Steve Miller/Grampies:) I might be zany from the mind-numbing exertion today!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
This village is packed full of photo ops so I wandered around for more APs. They were found everywhere. -- Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 2 Comment 0
The 'main street' of the village has many old traditional Portuguese-style buildings. Beautiful place. -- Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 2 Comment 0
Just a closer-up AP of the main street. -- Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
This little building and doorway is older than my country. -- Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesAt least officially.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Brent IrvineOf course. I mean no disrespect to our First Nations who called 'our' country home WAY before this date.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Another view of the firewood delivery in case anyone was interested. Taken as an additional AP. -- Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Right by the church is this old building that is actually bulging outward. -- Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Millionth AP of the cheerful banners flapping in the wind. -- Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
The church in the centre of town. -- Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Right across from my casa is this building which seems to be another part of the old priory. -- Trevôes, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0

I wandered around to get some APs (artsy photos) but was kind of shaky after the tough day of cycling so returned to my room to have a wee nap and read my Jeffrey Archer. I'm not sure if I'll head out later for more walking or just relax and read for the evening.

Today's ride: 47 km (29 miles)
Total: 385 km (239 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0