Pirna - Europe 2022 - CycleBlaze

September 7, 2022

Pirna

 I slept well last night. The eggs at breakfast are different from what I am used to and I have switched to the delightful cheeses that are available, We are in more of a valley now and there are occasional rock outcrops which are quite dramatic. We crossed into Germany and the path is very well maintained. There are more and nicer houses.

  We went to Konigstein Fortress which was really amazing. It is very well fortified and was rarely attacked. It is high up with high walls. There is a cute bus that goes from town to The car park. Then a little pseudo train takes you to the ticket office. We spent two hours there and there was a lot more to see.

  Then another photogenic town and quaint old hotel. I found a bank and got some Euros and a veggie kebab, this is more like a sandwich.

 

I saw a treecreeper and sure enough there are two that look almost alike. I saw a gull with yellow legs and sure enough there are several. I saw some geese that were gray with orange legs and sure enough there are three. According to ebird these are Eurasian Treecreeper, Yellow legged Gull, and Greylag Goose. The pigeons I assumed were Rock were really Common Wood Pigeons. These would all be new to me.  

 Also Ravens and I was excited about Goosanders, but they are what we call Common Merganser. Common Buzzard.

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 220 km (137 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0