Děčín - Europe 2022 - CycleBlaze

September 6, 2022

Děčín

Heart 1 Comment 0

an old looking city center

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

the chalice may refer to martyr Hus

Heart 2 Comment 0

it took 20 minutes to get this picture up

 

Today was pleasant but uneventful. We got started at 9:30, I think because we did not want to get to the hotel too early. We rode around Litomerice and climbed the tower at the church. There was a great view.

We stopped for coffee and got left town around 11. Some of the route was on beautiful asphalt or brick, some on rough cobbles, rough dirt, or hard packed ground. Pawel does a great job of checking to make sure we are all together. It was mostly along or near the river, which the railroad follows too.  It was very picturesque.

  I left my water bottle in my luggage and bought a bottle of water.

 When we got to the hotel, some other cyclists were arriving and I recognized them from our lunch stop. Although they were wearing jerseys with Austria on them, they were from the USA. They are doing the same route with a different tour operator.

   We cross to Germany tomorrow. I should get some Euros. Two nights in Germany and then back to Prague.

 

Mute Swans, Hooded Crows(?), great Tits, white wagtail, great cormorant, barn swallow.  I don’t know if I ever noticed Mallard males in eclipse plumage before. I think that is what I am seeing.

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 165 km (102 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rick WilcockAn eventful day for me and glad to share it with you and the crew in such a PICTURESQUE Republic 😜
Reply to this comment
1 year ago