Dehesa Nueva - Europe 2022 - CycleBlaze

September 15, 2022 to September 16, 2022

Dehesa Nueva

birding

Yesterday the 15th, I walked around a bit more of Seville. I had scoped out a place for breakfast and found the Aldi. Then a wrong turn or two to the bus station. I was a bit late for the one I wanted and it was an hour until the next. I had no idea which stop was going to be mine and got off too early. I walked into a bar and asked them to get me a taxi and it was done. I was going to have to take a taxi the last  bit so he took me a bit farther.

The place I am staying at is near the national park and some other protected areas. It is a little cabin with some cooking  appliances. I had slightly off timing there as well as reception was closed for the next 2 hours. Reception ordered a pizza to be delivered as the restaurant is closed for the season.

 

Today, I was picked up at 8 and off we went looking for birds. But first, Jose Manuel wanted to see if we could find the endangered Iberian Lynx, which he knows a lot about. We did not see one.

There was a lot of driving around. Yet, by the end of the day, I had 50 species of which 34 were new to me. We had what Jose Manuel declared the jewel, the Spanish (Imperial) Eagle. I am not sure if we saw birds of prey because we were looking for them, or vice versa, but we had 15. There were 3 species of eagles, harriers, kestrels, owls, buzzards, vultures and osprey.

I was hoping to see 40 new species for the whole trip. I had seen 4 new ones prior to this more intensive section, and with the 34 today I am 2 away. Two more birding days await

.Image result for azure winged magpie   Azure-winged Magpie is a beauty.

  Eurasian hoopoe - Wikipedia  Hoopoe is a crazy looking bird about the size of a Blue Jay.

It is quite hot.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0