Day 5: Getting off Denman Island - Escaping the smoke - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2021

Day 5: Getting off Denman Island

Denman Island to Qualicum Bay

It was a grey, grey day.  Unremarkable except for the upcoming hill which was playing with my mind.

I was in a dither at the thought of descending this upcoming hill
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm not sure if it was the threat of rain and the possibility of a slick road but I was absolutely afraid to go down this hill.  I braked so hard all the way down that my hands hurt.  As usual I had nothing to fear. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Gary charging ahead
Heart 0 Comment 0

You pay to take the ferry to Denman and it's free on the return off.  It felt like a unique community and if the friendliness of the bus driver was any indication, I think it might be common for people to arrive and never want to leave.  We didn't make it to Hornby Island but I hear it's beautiful as well.

A very grey day
Heart 1 Comment 0
The old coastal highway awards lovely views
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was not a ton of campgrounds to choose from and we were finding out that if you didn't have a reservation in the busy summer months, well you were most likely out of luck at a Provincial Park.  That is one thing about the booking system now with Provincial Parks that I wish they would change.  There is such a low percentage available for walk-ins, and in fact some parks, especially the popular ones, are  100% reservation only.  Takes the spontaneity out of things.

We were lucky to get a picnic table as a lot of the sites didn't have them. This was the most expensive campground of the trip
Heart 0 Comment 0

The positive about this campground was that it was on the ocean and they had hot showers.  

Is was necessary to wear a hazmat suit before entering the outhouses
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0