Day Trip Down the Lahn - Head Down, Chain Right: Riding South From Norway - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2023

Day Trip Down the Lahn

Pictures coming soon

Today was the day that my parents had planned on joining me on my bike tour for several days. They rented their Ebikes, and we decided to do a day trip up the Lahn river to Bad Ems. We started our day, of course, at a bakery. I rode on my bike and got us fresh Mettbroetchen, as well as pastries. After eating, I packed my bike back up, crossed my fingers that my repairs would hold, and we pedaled off. The route took us over a pedestrian bridge crossing the rhine, then on a separated river-front bike path on the Rhine, then the Lahn River. The Lahn River was idyllic. We pedaled through quiet German towns and countryside with the wind at our backs.  It took us about 1 hour with a tail wind to ride 16 miles to Nassau. There we stopped at an Italian Place and got pizza.

Breakfast from a bakery: Mettbroetchen, and assorted pastires.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Cycle path along the Rhine in Koblenz
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pedestrian bridge over the Rhine
Heart 5 Comment 0
Me on a bike
Heart 4 Comment 0
Stopping in a field
Heart 5 Comment 0
Idyllic field
Heart 4 Comment 0
Cows in a riverside pasture
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lunch at Pizzeria in Nassau
Heart 6 Comment 1
Karen PoretLove the color and shapes on the tablecloth!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

The way back took us a little bit longer, about 1.5 hours with a headwind. This trip was definitely a slower pace than what I had been doing the last 2 weeks. It was a nice change. Instead of "head down, chain right" riding, I was leisurely riding along bike paths, weaving between other bikers and pedestrians.

Back in Koblenz, we stopped at "Oma's Kuchen" bakery and got cake for dinner. It was delicious. 

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 590 miles (950 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Margie ThompsonBeautiful countryside and great meals. Nice they have so many paths and streets with no wild traffic.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago