Venice -> Graz (By Bus) - Head Down, Chain Right: Riding South From Norway - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2023

Venice -> Graz (By Bus)

A long day on the Flixbus

Today was fairly uneventful, so this will be a short post.

I woke up at my hostel in Venice around 8:30. I had slept 9.5 hours, I must have been exhausted. I stumbled downstairs and asked for my included breakfast. To my dismay, it was not all you can eat. It was simply an apricot croissant, a cup of coffee, and a small cup of orange juice. Everything was good, but I was still a bit hungry afterward. I went back to my room, packed up, and headed toward the ferry terminal. I had to cross the main canal to get to the bus terminal. I arrived at the FLixbus terminal 30 minutes early. I stopped at a nearby gelato stand and got a double cone. Chocolate and pistachio. Both great. I can't say much about the pizza in Venice (sample size of 1), but the gelato is 10/10. 

When I checked the ticket on my phone's flixbus app, I saw that I had been randomly assigned a seat, even though I never paid for a seat reservation. Thankfully they gave me a good seat. The bus left Venice at 10:50 on the dot. No delays today. This bus was much nicer than the bus to Pula, it even had a bathroom on board. I had a whole empty row to myself until a british woman boarded in Trieste. She was older, almost retirement age, and taught at a school for troubled youth. She told me about how difficult her job was, but how she saw hope in a few of her students which kept her motivated.

We chatted for an half hour or so, then the bus made a stop in Slovenia for food. I ate at the cafeteria style food bar, getting a plate of kabobs and rice, along with some cream cake. It was all delicious. I scarfed down my lunch and hopped back on the bus. I did not want to overstay and have the bus leave without me.

The british woman fell asleep in the seat next to me after that, and I spent the rest of the trip booking train tickets to Vienna tomorrow, and planning my day. I also had to figure out the logistics of flying with my bicycle on Friday. Tomorrow will be my last full day in Europe (at least for this summer).

I arrived at the bus station in Graz around 5:30. I walked 45 minutes to the train station where I had left my bike. I had also booked another night at the train station hostel. On my way there I stopped again at Onkel Donald's kebab shop. I ordered a beer and doener kebab wrap. It was just as good as the first time I had it. The bread was fresh out of the pizza oven, and the meat fresh sliced from the rotisserie log. Heaven.

I then stopped at a Lidl and got desert, a container of ice cream and a melon. I ate them both when I got to the hostel kitchen. I spend the next couple hours chilling in my hostel room. It seems I have the whole room to myself, at least for now. People are staying here by the look of the messed up bed sheets, but the people are elsewhere right now.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Mark SoggeA croissant, a cup of coffee, and a small cup of orange juice... I think you must have been more than "a bit hungry" after that tiny breakfast. I am impressed you had the energy to make it to the bus station ;)

Hard to believe you are about to wrap up your adventure. Smooth sailing on the final day and the transit home. Thanks for letting us all enjoy your trials, challenges, triumphs and fun vicariously!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Cordula SoggeLoved your latest posts! Good decision to change plans— your entire adventure seems to be full of great life lessons. Glad that you got some cool art and culture packed into your last days— this really makes me want to go back to Europe and see some of the places you described. Wishing everything goes well for the trip back home.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bernd BruennerHave a good flight and start planning your next trip on the way home. Look forward to seeing you soon!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Margie ThompsonEnjoy your last day and hope you don't have any problems with plane travel. Stay away from the North East or east over here, as flights are getting canceled all over because of the weather.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago