Day 22 - ending near Mount Ayr, IA - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 27, 2017

Day 22 - ending near Mount Ayr, IA

rode on Ringgold Trailway

Posted via email Mon Aug 28 07:04:02 2017 PDT

I made some coffee with the room's little brewer after I was up (at 5:32am). The weather radar was showing rain to the west. Later I didn't need the radar to see that. The cell was moving to the southeast, and just missed Clarinda. I loaded the bike and covered the rear gear with plastic. By that time, it looked clear enough to start out.

I left at 9:00am, for my first go at IA-2 on this trip. I half-way knew before I left home that this isn't the best road for bicycling, but others have used it. I don't have a lot of options at this point, since all my camping spots are mapped out along it. Tonight's destination is Poe Hollow Park, east of Mount Ayr. The first issue I saw with IA-2 once I was on it is that there are rumble strips on the otherwise rideable shoulder. But there is a wide side gravel shoulder beyond. On the good side, traffic was light today, since it is Sunday.

I made it into Taylor County at 9:59am, and passed by New Market at 10:05am. The wind was from the NNW, and was a help. By 11:33am, I was at the north side of Bedford. I stopped to search for places to eat in town when I happened to look up and see a "cafe" sign. The Junction Cafe. Lots of cars in the parking lot. That will work.

I normally couldn't hold at one sitting all the lasagna that was served me, but I had no problem today. Along with potato salad, mashed potatoes, and root beer, it was a just-right meal.

I was ready to leave at 12:25pm, so checked the noon mileage: 19.0 miles. I'm happy with that.

Past Bedford IA-2 has no rumble strips, since there isn't room for them on the very narrow paved shoulder. At 2:26pm, I entered Ringgold County as IA-2 went north for two and one-half miles. Wind was now light from the NNE.

When I turned back east (with IA-2) the rumble strips were back. I took a break at CR-P27 at 3:37pm. When I left at 3:50pm the sun was coming out. At 4:46pm, following my routing, I left Route 2. Apparently I was doing this to get lined up to see downtown Mount Ayr. That worked, and I was in town at about 5:20pm. They have music on their PA system at the square. I was wanting some ice cream for supper, and found a place - Dari Sweet - three blocks south along Route 2. I had a fun conversation with a guy (Chris) that had pulled up in his truck for ice cream. He's done RAGBRAI, and also talked about bicycling on Route 2 (he avoids doing it).

I headed back north and east to get to the start of the Ringgold Trailway. It's just two miles long, but is very nice. Halfway along, I planned to leave the trail for the path to Poe Hollow. I did that at 6:25pm. The trail is meant for hiking, not bicycling, I see now. Down stairs, over a bridge, and through the woods. I made it. Next I wandered through the park looking for the camping area. I eventually found it, and selected site 3 (with electricity) at 6:55pm.

Self-registered and got set up. Just before going to bed, I noticed that there's a storm cell to the north heading this way, so I got out to add extra guylines to the tent. Now I can see the lightning. Awesome, if it would just stay there. We'll see what the night brings. I'm going to sleep for now (at 10:00pm).

Jeff

Spent: $10.70 plus $2.50 (lunch) + $2.14 (root beer float) + $10 (campsite) = $25.34.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Day 22 - Clarinda, IA to Mount Ayr, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ The Celebrity Inn - Clarinda, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking what's ahead (east) at IA-2 (Pollock Avenue) - Bedford, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ this shoulder would work, except it's bumpy! - Ringgold County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ restored Skelly service station on the south side of the square - Mount Ayr, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Dari Sweet - Mount Ayr, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 783 miles (1,260 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0