Day 21 - still at Clarinda, IA - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 26, 2017

Day 21 - still at Clarinda, IA

Posted via email Sat Aug 26 19:50:02 2017 PDT

My alarm woke me up at 6:00am. Worked on report. I had planned to ride today, but I was still tired. This place is very nice, and reasonably priced, so at 8:00am I went to the office and signed up for another night. I also received directions to the laundromat in town.

By 8:30am I had the bike loaded with dirty laundry, and took off for breakfast. Arrived at 8:45am at the Robin's Nest Cafe north of the courthouse (a recommendation I received last evening after asking during check-in). They have a breakfast buffet, so I went with that. Very good.

Next stop, the laundromat. Worked on yesterday's report while I waited. My clothes were dry at 10:45am, but I stayed a little longer to get the report wrapped up.

On my way back to the motel, I passed the birthplace of Glenn Miller. There's a museum next door that opens at 1:00pm. That would be interesting to see, but first a nap. I'd noticed this morning that I was having a hard time seeing far off in focus. I was counting on my planned nap to fix that. One more stop first - at Casey's to add air to the tires, if needed. I added a little to the rear tire, about the amount I lost getting the gauge reading. While there, I bought a chocolate milk to-go.

I was back in my motel room at 11:50am. It's a good thing I took a few minutes to drink my milk rather than hopping right on the bed. At noon both the room alarm and my smartphone alarm (set for noon mileage reminder) went off. I woke up from the nap at 1:45pm. That's better. And I can see better, also.

I left at 2:09pm for the museum, arriving there at 2:15pm. One reason I am interested in learning more about Glenn Miller is that my high school band director admired Glenn Miller, and we played his music. (My high school band director was Lawrence Fogelberg - "The Leader of the Band".)

There were three things I could do at the museum: look at the exhibits, watch a documentary film, and tour the home next-door. I spent an hour looking, an hour watching, and twenty-five minutes on a personalized tour. I believe I was their only visitor today. I took so many pictures (with permission) that picture-selection for the report won't be easy. I really enjoyed my visit, remembering Glenn Miller's music.

On my way back south at 4:45pm. I was figuring out what to do for supper, and as I got close, decided on a place I've never heard of before: Runza. I selected my meal with help from a very tired but friendly worker. I had a BBQ Bacon Runza Sandwich, a side salad, and a cappuccino shake. Just right.

I stayed outside once I was back at the motel. There is a picnic table on the lawn in the shade, and it was such a pleasant evening. Started on that picture-selection job, taking a break for a twenty-minute phone call with my wife. Before heading inside, I checked the tires using the remaining sunlight. Found a piece of glass in the rear tire. I'd bicycled 4.4 miles around Clarinda today, and thanks to my day-off rest, am ready for more tomorrow.

Jeff

Spent: $49 plus $5 (motel) + $10.65 plus $3 (breakfast) + $3 (laundry machines) + $1.39 (chocolate milk) + $5 (entrance fee) + $9.39 (supper) = $86.43.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Robin's Nest Cafe - Clarinda, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ US Post Office - Clarinda, Iowa 51632 +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Runza - Clarinda, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0