Day 2 - ending near Rushville, IL - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2017

Day 2 - ending near Rushville, IL

Posted via email Tue Aug 8 09:25:02 2017 PDT

I woke up at 4:00am, fortunately, since I hadn't set an alarm. My legs protested a little overnight, but getting around helped. Started writing report. The river is just beyond trees along the bank, and I could hear the low rumble of a barge's diesel engine. It revved up sometimes. Sounds just as powerful as a train engine, but quieter. At 7:00am I took a break from the report, and packed up.

At 10:20am, with the report done, I was on my way to Toni's Family Restaurant - the place I'd picked (with help from Google Maps) to eat breakfast. On my way, I passed (on purpose) Central Christian Church. My brother-in-law Bill was the pastor here a long time ago. I arrived at Toni's at 10:44am, then had to decide pancakes and eggs or steak and eggs. I went with the pancakes. They were out of orange juice, so I switched to a small glass of tomato juice. Their small size is large to me. With ice in my Klean Kanteen, and sunscreen applied (since I'd forgotten earlier) I was on my way at 11:32am.

Heading south to Beardstown, then northwest to Schuy-Rush Park is the plan for today. I came to the first hill of the trip that I had to walk up, and I was still in Havana! This, I'm sure, doesn't surprise Bill or my sister Laurie.

I was just a little ways out of town when it was time for the noon mileage report: 4.7 miles.

I followed paved country roads east of IL-78, and it was good riding, helped by a northeast wind. Arrived in Bath by-way-of CR-900N at 1:11pm. Stopped for a break at their park downtown, after passing the former high school building. A little later as I was leaving town, I raced three boys on bikes for a block. The outcome was what I expected. The boys were happy, and we discussed my bike and trip.

More enjoyable riding south of Bath along CR-1125E. I was delayed at one point. Observing the timing of an irrigation unit, which was watering the road, indicated there was a very short window that would allow me to pass. I made it through dry.

I caught myself "kicking-back" to shift a few times today. I'd wondered if that would happen - a carry-over from using the kickback last year.

I had to get on IL-78 to get across the Sangamon River. Highway IL-78 actually has a nice shoulder, and brought me into Chandlerville at 2:57pm. I parked the bike on the shoulder, and walked across the highway to the Fast Stop. At the pump in the back seat of a car was a boy calling me over for a 'high-five'. After that he asked, "What's that you have on?" pointing at my head. I explained the helmet and my rearview mirror. Then I told him I was going to get a chocolate milk. He asked me to get him one too. His mom in the front seat told him they would be getting ice cream later. I said that would be better than chocolate milk. Then he invited me to come get ice cream with them. I love the way children's minds work!

I didn't need a whole quart of c. milk, but that's all the Fast Stop had. Turns out I was thirstier than I realized. On south a ways, then a right onto Beardstown Road. Yet another great ride. The road hugs the bottom of the bluff, which is on the left. Bottomland on the right. Fourteen miles of this for me.

Arrived in Beardstown at 5:10pm. Followed my GPS waypoints toward the river, then spotted a Dairy Queen a block away. Decided to have supper there, before I crossed the bridge out of town. Afterwards, on farther downtown I had to stop, since this smartphone was indicating low battery. Connected its charger to the bike's battery, and headed toward the bridge.

The bridge is narrow, busy, and has grates that need to be avoided. Waited for truck traffic to clear, then made my way. It went OK, and I was happy to be on the other side at 6:22pm. I was on US-67 now. Flat for a while, then a gradual climb. Then a steeper climb. I made it without walking, but not without breaks - one at an official rest area.

One last downhill and uphill, then I turned left toward the park, at 7:44pm. The camp host wasn't home, but his next-door campers helped me out by calling him. Tent camping is $10, or $18 with electricity. I wasn't sure which way to go, but decided with-electricity after checking out both areas. Got the tent set up in the last light of the day. Next, a shower. A beautiful-looking full moon (looks full to me) showing as I walked back to the tent. Reminded me what I hope to see in two weeks.

Having a shower always knocks me out as far as getting anything done but sleeping afterwards. Picture sorting and report writing tomorrow morning. Good night.

Jeff

Spent: $9.08 plus $2 (breakfast) + $2.05 (chocolate milk) + $8.53 (supper) + $18 (campsite) = $39.66.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Day 2 - Havana, IL to Rushville, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ M/V John D. Nugent heads upstream on the Illinois River - Havana, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ city park - Bath, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking back along Chandlerville/Beardstown Road (CR-7) - Cass County, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 104 miles (167 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0