Day 1 - ending at Havana, IL - Getting Aligned - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2017

Day 1 - ending at Havana, IL

Posted via email Mon Aug 7 08:09:02 2017 PDT

Up at 4:00am with just attaching-the-cargo to the bike left to do. That went well. Rain is predicted for today, but for now the radar looked clear, so I didn't attach the plastic cover.

At 7:12am I was on my way to the Morton Downtown Diner, where I eat breakfast on Sunday mornings before church. Had what I always get, and enjoyed conversation with fellow customer and friend Ida at the counter. I showed Ida how I can see rain coming by looking at the radar on my phone. The radar was showing a passing shower. Looking outside confirmed that!

At 7:50am - just a little behind my normal Sunday morning schedule - I headed toward church. Not that I had time to stay for the service, but I did want to say goodbye to our pastor, who will be our pastor for just ten more days. I will so miss her! She wished me a safe trip, as everyone has. I heard later that during the service this morning my name was mentioned during the "Joys and Concerns" prayer time. I hope I was a 'joy'.

At 8:17am, I started actually making progress toward my evening destination - Havana, Illinois. Today I followed closely the path I took in 2012 to a campground at Sand Ridge State Forest. That was an overnight trip to test my, at the time, 'new' Trek Belleville for touring.

I came to my first 'hill' at 8:57am. It was actually the Allentown Road overpass over I-155. I made that OK, with help from faded words painted on the shoulder: YOU . . . CAN . . . DO . . . THIS. On the downhill side was GOOD . . . JOB.

Arrived at Tremont's park at 9:24am. Decided to get the bike ready for rain, more as a practice trial than a necessity. That went well also, and I was on my way through town at 10:08am. Next stop was the park in South Pekin, where I arrived at 11:38am. Seeing that it was getting close to noon reminded me that I need to record the noon mileage (at noon), and setting an alarm timer for that on this smartphone would be a good idea. And it was, for later down the road I received the reminder. 22.1 miles is today's "noon report".

It started to sprinkle after I turned right onto Townline Road at 12:26pm. It wasn't until I was on Schuttler Road that I realized that the rain was serious. On with the rain pants and coat, but not the boots. It wasn't too much later when I noticed I was running out of energy. I had planned to eat somewhere in Manito up ahead, and now that would be a necessity. My first choice for a place to eat - a place run by my friends Bruce and Loretta - is closed on Sundays. I stopped by to get a picture, anyway, since this is the first time I've seen the place. Just then, the door opens and it's Loretta! She invited me in to look around. There are actually three businesses (buildings side-by-side) they run, and Loretta was there for a function in the banquet room next door. She told me which eating places are open in town on Sundays, and gave me a bag of peanuts as I left.

I arrived at Manito's Subway at 2:09pm, needing food so bad I was just about shaking. I recovered OK as I watched the light rain outside. Left at 2:57pm, continuing west and south and past the Pine Campground, where I stayed in 2012.

At 4:50pm I stopped for a break, and to eat the peanuts Loretta had given me. I can't easily get into my front bag - where my snacks are - when it's covered with plastic, so her gift was appreciated.

I talked with my wife some after that. She was lining up activities to keep her busy while I'm away.

A few hills, but not a bad ride into Havana. I didn't see a city limits sign, but arrived at Riverfront Park at 6:30pm. Located the camp host at the marina. Five dollars for a tent site, twenty dollars for a RV site with electricity. The bike has enough power for charging the cell phone, I think, so I took the better deal.

At 8:00pm I headed up a few blocks on the empty bike - to "Babe's" to get something to eat. Finished my "Babe's Burger", but was too full for half the chips.

Back at the tent at 9:00pm, after watching a barge pass by. Sorted pictures, but the report writing will have to wait for the morning. Was falling asleep at 10:30pm, after a first-day I'm happy with, helped along with thoughts and prayers from friends and family.

Jeff

Spent: $9.08 plus $2 tip (breakfast) + $6.64 (lunch) + $5 (campsite) + $10.76 plus $3.24 tip (supper) = $36.72.

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Day 1 - Morton, IL to Havana, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking west at Lake Knolls Road - Tazewell County, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 55 miles (89 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0