San Juan Skyway, Colorado 1998 - 1988-2002 Bike Tours - CycleBlaze

September 5, 1998 to September 10, 1998

San Juan Skyway, Colorado 1998

This was my shortest bike tour, combined with a visit to relatives.

6 days, 281 miles (450 km).

Heart 0 Comment 0

The route is known as the San Juan Skyway. It crosses 4 mountain passes above 10,000 feet elevation. The San Juan mountains are a little known but spectacular part of Colorado.

At 10,222 foot Lizard Head pass.
Heart 1 Comment 0
San Miguel river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In Telluride I was lucky get the last available campsite at the town campground. It was awesome to camp so close to the historic town.

Telluride Main Street.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I camped and soaked for a long time at Orvis hot spring near the town of Ridgway, a rare clothing-optional commercial hot spring.

US 550 from Ouray to Silverton to Durango is extremely challenging and scenic. Highly recommended.

Climbing 11,017 foot Red Mountain pass.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Climbing Red Mountain pass.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking down on Silverton.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The weather was warm and sunny most of the time, but usually threatening to rain on the high passes in the afternoon. I camped every night.

The bike tour was combined with a visit to my wife's uncle in Cortez, Colorado. My wife and her mother flew out to visit while I was on the tour.

After the tour my wife and I rode the Durango-Silverton narrow gauge railroad, visited the Pueblo Indian ruins at Mesa Verde National Park, and drove to the Four Corners monument.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0