Back to Real Time - Because Nobody Else Cared To Ride To Duluth - CycleBlaze

Back to Real Time

The Conclusion

That was the end of my journal.  There wasn't much of a conclusion, just as there wasn't much of an introduction.  So, in the form of a conclusion, I will just say this:  That little six-day tour taught me so much.  I have become a fan of, and an advocate for, bicycle touring.  (Well, okay, my advocacy so far is limited to this paragraph, but if you're reading this, trust me, it IS fun.)  Challenge yourself!  You do not need the most sophisticated gear.  It's cool to learn how much you can do without.  How good really awful food can taste.  How a storm is nothing to fear.  How far your own muscles and inner-drive can take you.  How superior you'll feel toward folks touring the country in an RV.  How to write poor sentences that begin with the word "how."

You do not have to write a journal about your trip, though you might WANT to.  It might just inspire your friends to do something similar.

  

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Bob DistelbergThanks for sharing this journal Greg. I really enjoyed it, except for the part about the pigs. That part made me both very sad and very angry.

And great advice about just taking a bike trip, and not worrying too much about the gear, or if you can do it, or whatever other excuses you can come up with. Now I just have to learn how to take that advice!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bob DistelbergYeah, that pig treatment was a real downer. I think the driver of the pickup was a bigger pig than the pigs.
I don't know if I've really inspired anybody to go on a bike tour, but your message gives me hope that maybe you might be the first. DO IT!

Greg
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bob DistelbergTo Gregory GarceauYeah, I'm pretty good on simple one night overnights. It's that multi-night self supported hurdle I have yet to overcome. Got a couple potential trips in mind for this year, Covid permitting. If I'm successful on any of them, you get full credit for inspiring me. :-)
Bob
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bob DistelbergYou will find that a multi-day tour (or multi-week tour) is nothing more than a few overnighters strung together. You won't have to carry much extra gear. Well, socks. Always carry a change of socks. Unless you go deep into the wilderness, you should be able to get food and water at least a couple times per day. What more could you need?

When it comes right down to it, any inspiration I might provide pales in comparison to your own inspiration. When you're ready, and you really want it, you'll do it. I know.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Bob DistelbergGreg’s right - you really don’t need much preparation (other than conditioning) or gear on a several day ride, especially if you aren’t camping out. On my first significant tour, from Indiana to Montana, I just jammed everything essential into a modest sized rucksack. The hardest hurdle, IMO, is just deciding to do it. Well, and for some of us, to wait for the snow to melt.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago