We Gotta Go Back to Pattaya - Down Pat - CycleBlaze

February 12, 2024

We Gotta Go Back to Pattaya

The Montague rolled into the Sananwan Palace parking lot.  I let the kickstand down and hopped off the bike just like that.  This was a most successful end to the mission.  The bike is now safely returned to its rightful home.  This will lighten the load considerably since I'm flying back out to Hong Kong in a few days.  We all know from how the trip started that it's an absolute nightmare to bring a bike there and lug it around.  Not only that, the ongoing decluttering throughout this trip lightened by load by well over 50%.  There is hardly anything left to sort out now.  

But the real mission accomplished was selling the condo!  The buyer put down a massive deposit on the spot and a portion was shortly transfered to my Thai bank account.  All this was discovered while making a 7/11 stop and checking messages. 

What needs to happen now is a trip back to Pattaya tomorrow to formally make a contract and get it backed by the agent's lawyer.  There is a lot more paperwork to be done that hopefully we can get it all sorted this trip without the need for me to fly back in again.  

So for this round trip it will need to be a taxi as I'm not biking back to Pattaya again.  The people at the Sananwan were very impressed with all of this since I had been talking to them about selling the condo for years.  We had a mini celebration tonight.

Now I know this was the right decision.  Once that thing is off my hands for good, it's a feeling of relief that I'm no longer tied to Thailand.  The chances are good I'll come back anyway but it's all on my terms.  People back at work always thought I had a secret Thai girlfriend or something, as I kept coming here 2-3 times a year every trip.  I don't, and never had one.  They can think whatever they want.  People are really stupid.  Anyways, it is one more major piece of decluttering to have gotten rid of the condo, or started the final process of such.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0